Ironstone Old Vine Zinfandel 2012

Date July 20, 2014 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

Whenever I see Ironstone in the vintages section I always pick-up a bottle and yet again I was not disappointed. This zin is a full bodied, lush fruit forward drinker with a great mouth-feel.
Released: May 10, 2014
Alcohol/Vol: 14.5%
At a Glance
Taste boysenberry, blackberry, oak
Smell blackberry, cassis, vanilla
Food red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $17.00
LCBO# 951889
Score

 

Reif Estate Riesling 2011

Date June 29, 2014 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This bottle was discovered by my Mom and is a great find. The wine was very crisp and had plenty of depth from first sip to the end of a long finish. Lime and stone-fruit push through most in this slightly off dry Riesling
Pick up a few bottles if you see it on the shelves (it's a crowd pleaser).
Serve in a chilled wine glass. Alcohol/Vol 12.0%
At a Glance
Taste lime, honeydew, mineral
Smell mineral, peach, lime
Food appetizers
Sweetness off dry - medium sweet
Price $12.95
LCBO# 111799
Score

 

Ruffino Chianti DOCG 2012

Date April 10, 2014 | Chuck | Chianti & Italy & Red Wine

I was pleasantly surprised by this entry level chianti from the large producer Ruffino.
Overall this is a good value chianti for the price and availability. 13.0% Alcohol/Vol.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, vanilla, cherry
Smell strawberry, black cherry, sweet oak
Food italian, cheese
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 1743
Score

 

PKNT Carmenere 2010

Date February 14, 2014 | Chuck | Carmenere & Chile & Red Wine

Wow there is a stock photo of a chili pepper on the bottle, I better by this for someone I know who likes spicy foods!
Editor's note: that is a horrible idea
Could someone explain to me why the label says "contains eggs"?
At a Glance
Taste spicy, dark fruit, vanilla
Smell blueberry, vanilla, oak
Food tex-mex
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 191858
Score

Mill Street Barley Wine 2013

Date December 12, 2013 | Chuck | Barley & Canada & White Wine

Well is this beer or wine or something else altogether? My Answer: something else.  My final thought: Glad I tried it but not worth the price of admission for the non-adventurous.
It's made from barley and not grapes so really it's more beer than wine.  It's very lightly carbonated and has few traces of hops besides early bittering hops (guessing noble hops).  However this beer weighs in at 11.5% so you better sip it like a wine...or else you're gonna lose the night.
Tip: Be a gentleman (gentlewoman?) and serve it in a chilled wine glass.  You'll get about two 8oz pours.
At a Glance
Taste tobacco, earth, oak
Smell leather, caramel, sweet orange
Food aperitif or digestif
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 70359
Score

Farnese Montepulciano D'Abruzzo 2012

Date November 8, 2013 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

A swing and a miss by the winery of my house wine. With no depth in the nose or on the palate, this wine is very mundane.
It's one of the cheapest reds in the LCBO, so there is that. 12.5%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste red berry,vanilla,plum
Smell pomegranate,vanilla,oak
Food italian, pizza
Sweetness off dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 621912
Score

Ravine Vineyard Redcoat 2007

Date September 25, 2013 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

With a medium body this 2007 red blend is very bright and has some nice acidity lighten it even further.
Alcohol Content: 12.4%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste red fruit, earth, oak
Smell licorice, red fruit, vanilla
Food pepper steak
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 260406
Score

Pillitteri Cabernet Merlot 2010

Date September 2, 2013 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

45% Cabernet Sauvignon, 45% Cabernet Franc, 10% Merlot
Alcohol Content: 12.5%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark plum, vanilla, cassis
Smell dark plum, black cherry, vanilla
Food pizza, pasta, beef
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349191
Score
pil_cab_merlot.jpg

J.J. McWilliams Cabernet Merlot 2011

Date July 12, 2013 | Chuck | Australia & Red Blend & Red Wine

Pickup a few bottles of this well rounded value red wine.  It was easy drinking and turned out to be a crowd pleaser.
Alcohol Content: 13%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste pomegranate, oak. blueberry
Smell blackberry, cherry, spice
Food pizza
Sweetness dry
Price $10.45
LCBO# 621599
Score

McWilliams Cabernet Sauvignon 2009

Date May 16, 2013 | Chuck | Australia & Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine

Overall a decent weekday wine.  Not a lot of structure or depth but worth picking up a bottle if you're looking for a different general list cabernet sauvignon priced around 15 bucks.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, raspberry, spice
Smell blueberry, oak, dark cherry
Food sandwiches
Sweetness dry
Price $15.00
LCBO# 214577
Score

Barefoot Merlot

Date April 11, 2013 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

I've had better bottles from Barefoot.  This one is a pretty simple medium bodied off dry weekday merlot.  Give their Shiraz a go.
Alcohol Content: 13.5%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, vanilla, chocolate
Smell dark berry, cherry, raspberry
Food bbq lunch
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 53991
Score

Red Rock Malbec Reserve 2010

Date December 16, 2012 | Chuck | Malbec & Red Wine & USA

While typically not a fan of malbecs, this one is quite good. I liked the fruit forward characteristics of it - which aren't seen in malbecs from places like South America, making this bottle...very...Californian.
I disagree with the LCBO's sweetness descriptor of Extra Dry. Dry it is, Extra it is not.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste mulberry, oak, cherry
Smell mulberry, currant, oak
Food beef, asiago
Sweetness dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 284315
Score

Barefoot Shiraz

Date December 8, 2012 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Barefoot could very well be leading the way on value wines nowadays (Yellow Tail fans...take note)
Having a value shiraz on hand that's also a crowd pleaser is always handy. Pickup a few bottles since they are currently under $10 in Ontario.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark berry jam, spice, vanilla oak
Smell blackberry, jammy, spice
Food french onion soup
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 54015
Score

Dancing Bull Zinfandel 2010

Date October 6, 2012 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

This wine has a great profile however while drinking it I found it lacks mouthfeel and depth. Both key aspects this California Zinfandel lover craves.
I will say Dancing Bull is a good value if you are just getting into zins. (Expect to pay an extra 5 to 6 dollars to get the depth).
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste spice, raspberry, oak
Smell blueberry, cherry, oak
Food anything grilled, asiago
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 669499
Score

Poderi Angelini Primitivo Di Manduria 2008

Date September 20, 2012 | Chuck | Italy & Primitivo & Red Wine

Easily the best Primitivo we've reviewed on this site. Extra dry, firm tannins and plenty of depth makes this a great match for fans of Italian reds and Italian food.
Special thanks to Nurse Nancy for the bottle! It was enjoyed with family and Sunday lunch.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe strawberry, oak, light vanilla
Smell mulberry, dark cherry, light oak
Food italian
Sweetness extra dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 268136
Score

Fontana Di Papa Castelli Romani 2010

Date September 14, 2012 | Chuck | Italy & Red Blend & Red Wine

Well, this wine isn't giving me much to work with, but that's because it's your very basic Italian D.O.C. table wine. One of the least expensive reds I've seen at the LCBO, not because all their wines are great, it's because the prices are beyond terrible in Ontario and not much better country wide.
Made From: Cesanese, Sangiovese, Merlot, Montepulciano (unsure of the percentages). 12.0% Alcohol/Vol
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste medium berry, dried fruit, vanilla
Smell cherry, light fruit
Food grilled meat, mild cheddar
Sweetness extra dry
Price $7.45
LCBO# 219634
Score

Bear Flag Red Blend

Date September 3, 2012 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

As stated on the label it's a very smooth and fruit forward red blend with soft tannins.  A blend comprised of: Tempranillo, Touriga, Zinfandel, and Alicante.
Liked it more after decanting.  The artwork is interesting but personally I don't like having to hunt for information on the bottle.  Even once found it was hard to read against the background.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dried cherries, blackberry, vanilla
Smell dried cherries, blackberry, vanilla
Food bbq
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 226514
Score

Apothic Red 2010

Date August 18, 2012 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

The label says "Winemaker's Blend" and they weren't joking! This wine is made using Zinfandel, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.
Overall I believe the amount of blending in this bottle muted much of the contributor's individuality. In a blind tasting I would guess it's just a Syrah/Merlot blend.
Tip: tasted better the next day, so try decanting after opening
At a Glance
Taste vanilla, dark fruit, mocha
Smell plum, vanilla
Food cheddar cheese
Sweetness off dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 234369
Score

Make Your Own Hard Cider

Date August 18, 2012 | Chuck | Food & Homebrew

In a nutshell: making decent homemade hard cider is very possible!!!

Here’s the story:

When going to restaurants and pubs, I occasionally find myself ordering hard cider. BlackThorn and Strongbow are personal favourites as I find Perrys too mild for my tastes.

It doesn’t take a wine connoisseur’s palette to quickly realize that Hard Cider is 99.9999% apple juice (or fresh pressed sweet apple cider)

Me being the guy who can’t leave well enough alone, I decide to make some and share the experience with everyone here … good or bad result.

First begin by sanitizing everything that will come into contact with the juice. I used boiling water but you can also use a home brewing sanitizer.

Begin with 1 gallon of Preservative Free sweet apple cider or juice. The only additive allowed here is ascorbic acid (vitamin c). I used 70% cider and topped off with canned apple juice.

cider-cans.jpg

 

Using a hydrometer, take a Specific Gravity reading (SG) so you can tell the amount of sugar in your juice and thus the alcohol potential in your final product. My reading was 1.043 which should yield a final product of around 4.5%. Add sugar if you need to, I went without.

cider-hydro.jpg

Re-hydrate 1/2 pkg of wine champagne yeast (Lalvin EC-1118) in 3 oz of lukewarm water for 10 minutes.

cider-yeast.jpg

Pitch the yeast into your 1 Gallon primary fermentation vessel (glass carboy in my case). Plug with a bung/stopper and install the airlock which allows gasses out but not in. Put it in a cool corner of your basement and add time.
cider-fermenter.jpg

Day 0 - 3 Hours after adding yeast: 1 bubble through the airlock every 60 seconds
Day 1 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 5 seconds
Day 2 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 3 seconds
Day 3 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 3 seconds
Day 4 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 3 seconds
Day 5 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 5 seconds
Day 6 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 11 seconds
Day 7 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 22 seconds
Day 8 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 30 seconds
Day 9 - 1 bubble through the airlock every 40 seconds
Specific Gravity is now 1.001 ( Very Dry )

Add 1/2 tsp. of sugar per 500ml bottle and fill with your cider (at this point it’s called still cider and can be bottled as-is without the sugar which will induce bottle carbonation) and store at room temperature for 2.5 weeks. After that, put it in the fridge for a few days. Enjoy.

Final Notes:

–Next time I would use Ale Yeast for beer and hope it doesn’t turn out as dry.

–When pouring, I first add 2 tsp of white sugar to the pint glass to back sweeten.

–From juice to pint glass takes 5 weeks (conditioning time included)

Barefoot Moscato

Date August 8, 2012 | Chuck | Moscato & USA & White Wine

Thankfully this wine is only 8.5% because after my first sip on this hot summer day I accidentally downed the 10oz glass. Of course I poured myself another so I could help our readers with their weekend wine shopping. In a nutshell: buy a few bottles, open them when it's hot out and enjoy a sweet wine for a change!
2010 gold medal at the ultimate wine challenge - usa
Tip: think of this as a baby ice wine, but a fraction of the price and 2x the volume
At a Glance
Taste honeydew, tangerine, citrus
Smell lemon, pineapple, floral
Food flan, dessert, fruit
Sweetness extra sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 234351
Score

35 South Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2009

Date July 15, 2012 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

A big, fruit forward, juicy cabernet sauvignon from Chile isn't something I've had in years.  They had a good run in 2007-2008 but it's been an uphill battle ever since.  Was pleasantly surprised with this bottle.
A strong red weighing in at 14.0 %
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste rasin, cassis, oak
Smell rasin, dark berry, oak
Food cheese, red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 170019
Score

Sandbanks Selection Baco Noir 2010

Date June 8, 2012 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Deep, rich, flavourful and fruit forward. VQA from Prince Edward County.
LCBO number below reflects the 2009 vintage, review is for 2010
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, leather, vanilla
Smell blackberry, chocolate, vanilla
Food pizza, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 211318
Score

Astica Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2011

Date May 8, 2012 | Chuck | Argentina & White Blend & White Wine

Light straw, greenish color. Clean on the nose with a touch of mixed citrus fruit. Crispy, fruity and refreshing in the mouth. The acidity of the Sauvignon is balanced by the fullness and length of the Semillón.
A great value wine that was well received
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste lemon, mineral, floral
Smell citrus, floral, tropical fruit
Food apertif, fish
Sweetness off dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 359083
Score

Henry of Pelham - Sibling Rivalry Red 2009

Date April 11, 2012 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

A blend of Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon grapes from the 2007 vintage
The white outshines the red
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark berry, oak, plum
Smell blackberry, raspberry, oak
Food burgers, bbq
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 126151
Score

Pillitteri Gewurztraminer Riesling Fusion 2010

Date March 25, 2012 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

An excellent buy that is full of flavour and aroma. Goes well with the listed foods or simply as an aperitif
Blend: 51% Gewurztraminer 49% Riesling
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste peach, cantelope, floral
Smell peach, cantelope, pineapple
Food seafood, chinese
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349126
Score

Torre Varano Taburno Falanghina 2009

Date February 11, 2012 | Chuck | Falanghina & Italy & White Wine

Native to the Campania region of Southern Italy, the Falanghina grape makes full-bodied and well-structured wines.
Release Date: Aug 6, 2011
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste apple, melon, floral
Smell pear, apple, mineral
Food calamari
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 106351
Score

Mirassou Pinot Noir 2010

Date January 9, 2012 | Chuck | Pinot Noir & Red Wine & USA

A soft, fruit forward, easy drinking (very) California pinot noir
Pickup a few bottles, it makes a great house pinot
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, vanilla, raspberry
Smell cherry, plum, vanilla
Food salmon, risotto
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 185249
Score

The Beach House Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2010

Date November 5, 2011 | Chuck | South Africa & White Blend & White Wine

Most people aren't fans of either Sauvignon Blanc or Semillon, this wine won't change their minds.
Made from 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon in South Africa (Cape Coastal Region)
Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste gooseberry, lemongrass, bitter citrus
Smell green apple, gooseberry, lemongrass
Food sushi, crab, shrimp
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 122390
Score

Hardys Bankside Shiraz 2009

Date October 11, 2011 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

A great Aussie shiraz for the price, I can recommend buying a couple for the rack.
Works as a nice benchmark shiraz for beginners and intermediate wine lovers.
Tip: Stock up on a few
At a Glance
Taste dark currant, medium berry, warm spice
Smell raspberry, leather, dark chocolate
Food red meat, bbq, ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 436022
Score

Huff Estates Rosé 2007

Date September 10, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Rosé & White Wine

It's true, not all pink wines are sweet and syrup like.  Here's a dry to off dry rose that has a serious side to it.
Seems to only be available via the winery
Tip: Serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste cranberry, grapefruit, grass
Smell grapefruit, herbaceous, lychee
Food appetizers, salmon
Sweetness off dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Open Riesling-Gewürztraminer 2010

Date August 3, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

This VQA fuses two great varietals and the outcome is a success in my books since characteristics from both grapes are allowed to shine through. The palette is crisp all around with a slightly sweet yet tart citrus finish.
This bottle was well received by 3 of 3 white wine drinkers at the table.
Tip: Serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste pear, tropical fruit, floral
Smell pear, citrus, lychee
Food thai, salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $11.95
LCBO# 134965
Score

Wine Shield

Date August 2, 2011 | Chuck | Editorials & Product Reviews

We're frequently asked: "What's the best way to save half a bottle of wine?"
Using a special gas that wine bars use is obviously out of the question, so next we suggest pouring the unused amount into a smaller bottle. What this does is attempt to reduce the amount of oxygen that can surround the wine. As this method isn't perfect and requires a few differently sized bottles, the people at Wine Shield have developed a disc that slides into your original wine bottle and sits on top of the liquid forming a barrier between the exposed wine and the bottle's oxygen, thus delaying the Oxidation process which eats away at your wine's freshness.
We found that the product does indeed help.  Swirl the bottle a few times after dropping the shield in to get it to lay perfectly flat.  Continue to use a cork or screw cap and refrigerate the bottle as you normally would.
    
Find them at the websites below:
Canada http://www.wineshieldcanada.com/catalog/retail
USA: http://www.buywineshield.com/

Château Poitevin 2003

Date June 21, 2011 | Chuck | Bordeaux & France & Red Wine

The second saddest part about cellaring is that when you finally decide to reach for one and it's great, you can't get any more.  Unless you bought a case to begin with.
Release Date: Sometime in 2007
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste spicy fruit, blueberry, leather
Smell dark fruit, spice, leather
Food ribs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Avalon Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date April 19, 2011 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

This vintages release is a great way to drink some full bodied, fruit forward California Cab at a great price. I will be picking up a few more bottles on my next trip.
Release Date: March 19, 2011
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, blueberry, leather
Smell blackberry, blueberry, cinnamon
Food pasta, pizza
Sweetness dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 684399
Score

I am not a hoarder. I think.

Date March 23, 2011 | Sean | Editorials & Special Features

expiredwine1.jpg

 

I am not a hoarder. I think.

 

Nothing gives me more satisfaction than pitching and heaving bags and boxes of unused stuff from my home. But when it comes to shrinking my wine cellar – logic gets a swift kick in the pants.

 

I consistently get asked the same questions about my wine collection. What do you do with all those bottles, and do they ever go bad? I will admit that I do take too much pleasure from looking at row after row of bottles waiting to be uncorked. All arranged neatly, labels up, necks out, foils shining in the light. My own private army of soldiers ready and willing to take on any occasion or menu I may throw at them.

 

Every “collector” (hoarder) has a different philosophy on purchasing wine. Mine is to drink it. But that doesn’t always go according to plan. The three bottles in the accompanying picture were, at one time, some of my best finds and favorite wines. They have each passed their peak and were unceremoniously poured down the drain. Tragic indeed.

 

That doesn’t hold true for all wines, some age longer than others. Some can’t age at all. These particular bottles could take a little aging but were really constructed for immediate to near future enjoyment. But I do so hate depleting my army.

 

So remember, store your wine at around 55 Fahrenheit (12 Celsius, eh), in a low light and low vibration environment. Be kind to your wine and drink it.

 

Farnese Negroamaro 2009

Date February 4, 2011 | Chuck | Italy & Negroamaro & Red Wine

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Farnese is the best at what they do, and what they do is produce good, consistent, Italian IGT wines at more than affordable prices, vintage after vintage. Their Sangiovese has been my house wine for over 2 years, this Negroamaro will have some constant shelf space as well. If I could change anything, I would add a little more structure / edge - but then again, I'd get a Sangiovese clone.
To sum up: easy drinking, fruit forward, very little oak, high alcohol at 13.5% but you don't taste it whatsoever. Nice tannins felt along the gumline on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, blueberry, herbaceous
Smell black cherry, blueberry, vanilla
Food pizza, hard cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 143735
Score

Pelee Island Gewürztraminer 2009

Date January 31, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & White Wine

If you're looking for a sweeter white wine with loads of honey and pear notes, look no further. Serve this nice and cold but take it easy, as the easy drinking nature hides it's 12.5% alcohol content very well!
This is the non-VQA version, do I mind? nope. Watch for the hint of spice on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sweet fruit, honey, pear
Smell pear, honeydew, honey
Food apertif, chinese, stir fry
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $10.95
LCBO# 135970
Score

Colio Lake and River Series Cabernet Franc 2008

Date January 11, 2011 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

Franc is harder to find than it should be, this bottle is medium light, food friendly and fruit forward - a good intro to theis varietal.
Made from 100% Cabernet Franc. Alcohol Content: 12.2%
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, raspberry, herbaceous
Smell raspberry, strawberry, pepper
Food pizza, burger
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 183079
Score

Fetzer Pinot Grigio 2009

Date December 22, 2010 | Chuck | Pinot Grigio & USA & White Wine

Unfortunately nothing great to report on this 2009 white, I had some high hopes based on the 2007 vintage but 2009's did not show as well.
Slightly bitter on the finish
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, melon, bitter apple
Smell melon, lime, floral
Food tapas
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 34041
Score

Fetzer Sauvignon Blanc 2009

Date December 16, 2010 | Chuck | Sauvignon Blanc & USA & White Wine

Being very dry and heavy on the alcohol, this white may not appeal to everyone. A friend told me their Pinot Grigio is very nice, review to come.
90% Sauvignon Blanc, 10% Viognier
Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste grassy, grapefruit, gooseberry
Smell melon, grass, floral
Food herbed tilapia fillet
Sweetness extra dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 34033
Score

Henry of Pelham - Sibling Rivalry White 2009

Date November 19, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

This bottle would be a perfect one to open amongst white lovers with different palates. The blend of Riesling, Chardonnay and Gewürztraminer is well balanced and anything but bland.
Special thanks to Daniel Speck for the tasting and history of the brand.
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, citrus, apple
Smell citrus, peach, floral
Food mango chicken salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 126144
Score

Southbrook Cabernet Merlot Shiraz 2006

Date November 1, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

I think this should be the typical three grapes for a meritage. An excellent blend for the price.
The shiraz shines well in this dry, mid-full bodied vintage.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, black pepper, mocha
Smell red berry, earth, pepper
Food bbq ribs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 45609
Score

Spinelli Malbec 2008

Date October 28, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Malbec & Red Wine

Glad to announce Spinelli remains one of the LCBO's great bargains. If you aren't a big malbec fan (personally I'm not after all the misses I've had with them) give this a shot because it's not in the traditional style. Much more fruit forward and jammy, almost like a Merlot-Cab-Malbec mix.
This bottle scored extra points because of the price and wide usage as a bottle to open any day of the week or bring over to dinner at a friend's place.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, plum, jam
Smell dark berry, coffee, cigar
Food mexican
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 143750
Score

Folonari Valpolicella 2009

Date September 27, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

Even though there isn't a lot going on in the glass, it's not a bad choice at all for casual bbq food. Not sure if this is really LCBO #828 or what I have listed below, the price difference is 4 more dollars.
This valpolicella is a blend of 65% Corvina, 25% Rondinella, 10% Molinara
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, oak
Smell cherry, oak, raspberry
Food pizza, burgers
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 6254
Score

KWV Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date September 4, 2010 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & South Africa

Well there isn't a huge story behind this bottle but it is a good easy drinking wine for a weekday evening.
Put this bottle in the fridge for 20 minutes before opening
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, cedar, cigar
Smell cedar, cherry, plum
Food grilled red meats, medium cheeses
Sweetness dry
Price $10.00
LCBO# 22004
Score


[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] > » 
50 Articles per page

© 2007-2014 nosnob.com | Disclaimer | Contact Us
Hosting by c-Seven Media | Powered by MantisCMS
nosnob.com is a wine blog featuring reviews under $20.00
Smart, funny, tasty.