Reviews in Category: Red Wine (Clear Filter)

Pasion 4 Merlot 2006

Date June 4, 2008 | Sean | Argentina & Merlot & Red Wine

I will admit that I often check out the back of the bottle to get a sense of whats in the bottle. While you don't want to take too much of what the marketing department said to heart, you can usually get some insight. If you want a fiction story go to a library and borrow a book.
While the back of this bottle certainly had great expectations it did fall a little short (and thin). The wine was good and non-offensive but a little something was missing in the middle giving it that thin mouth feel. But still got a high value marks.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, plum, chocolate
Smell rhubarb pie, raspberry, vanilla
Food grilled meat and roast veg
Sweetness dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 59287
Score
Pasion 4 Merlot 2006

The Little Penguin Merlot 2007

Date May 29, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Merlot & Red Wine

This wine has it's place, picnic barbecues. It also has it's place with the many other merlots from companies who choose to name their product after animals or something cutesy. If you're a buyer of these wines and enjoy them, give this one a shot, I found it much more enjoyable than the merlot by yellow tail, and it's a whole nickel cheaper - I'm probably paying for the name ;)
To watch for: how this wine is sweet on the attack but finishes with a slight bitter note.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, raspberry, vanilla
Smell cherry, berry
Food picnic food
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.15
LCBO# 598912
Score

Farnese Sangiovese Daunia 2006

Date May 27, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Sangiovese

This sangiovese is very well structured for a wine priced under 8 dollars a bottle.  Another nice feature of Italian wines is that they're easy to pair with food, Italian food. Them's the rules...I don't make 'em :)
For another excellent value try this vino by Spinelli ( however we do find the Farnese more refined ).  What adds to this bottle's attractivness is it's high availability, price point and the wide range of foods it pairs with.
Tip: buy a magnum, it's great even after being left open on the counter for a day
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, rhubarb, gentle bitterness
Smell sour cherry, tobacco, leather
Food veal parm, pizza
Sweetness dry
Price $7.40
LCBO# 512327
Score

 

Barefoot Cellars Merlot

Date May 20, 2008 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

Here's an economy California merlot that if you lived in California would probably run you about 5 bucks a bottle. The company reminds be a bit of two-buck-chuck and yellow tail. Striving to make a consistent wine year after year (hmmmm...kind of like beer)
Although I wouldn't make this one of my regulars, I could see this being a chilled summer sipper.
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, boysenberry, sweet plum
Smell boysenberry, plum, anise
Food bbq chicken
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 53991
Score

Hope Estate Shiraz 2006

Date May 18, 2008 | Sean | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

Picked up this wine on a Friday night after a long and exhausting work week. It was one of several that made it in to the basket somewhere between some inexpensive Sangiovese and some white stuff. Talk about a rose between two thorns.
The moment the cork came out of the bottle I knew something was up, which immediately prompted a call to Chuck telling him to get to the liquor store. This is a very lively and expressive wine, full of fruit and spices with a nice bold middle and easy finish. It had all the hallmarks of Shiraz but with a something a little more interesting that kept me coming back for more. 6 bottles will me making their way in to my collection for sure.
Tip: I'm a very picky Shiraz drinker, loved this one.
At a Glance
Taste wild strawberry, wild raspberry, pepper
Smell black cherry, raspberry, plum
Food mediterranean, bbq
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 59998
Score
Hope Estate Shiraz

Hillebrand Trius Red 2004

Date May 17, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

The wine makers at Hillebrand have combined Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc to create a blend known around the world as a Bordeaux style blend.
The Red has definite oak notes and firm tannins (specifically oak tannins). Although not a fruity wine, the herbaceous notes of the Cabernet Franc still shine through.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste red berry, spice, oak
Smell black currant, oak, herbaceous
Food bbq steak, grilled red meat
Sweetness extra dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 303800
Score

Valpantena Torre Del Falasco Valpolicella Ripasso 2005

Date May 14, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

Ripasso is known as the 'Baby Amarone'. Allow me to drop a little knowledge here. Amarone in my books is the lobster/caviar/cadillac of wines and with that label, goes a price tag that is not everyday affordable (at least for me). That said, when I buy ripasso, I always feel as if I'm getting a terrific deal.
Ripasso starts as valpolicella, but during fermentation the winemaker adds the unpressed skins from their prior batch of amarone and restarts the fermentation process. The addition of the amarone skins (which are simply dried grape skins) gives the valpolicella a fuller body, more complex aromas, deeper flavours and a little more alcohol.  Presto! your medium bodied valpolicella just became a chewy, full-bodied ripasso.
Tip: LBCO wine of the month (March 2008)
At a Glance
Taste ripe red berry, raisin, leather
Smell casis, rasin
Food filet mignon, gnocchi with gorgonzola sauce
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 642421
Score

Peller Estates Heritage Series Baco Noir 2006

Date May 12, 2008 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Here's a sub ten dollar VQA that I was going to mark as being off-dry but then changed it to medium-sweet just because the sugars and tartness kept lingering on in the finish.
If you're a fan of Niagara's baco and have found one you like, buy a few bottles because in my tastings I have yet to find two vintages that even remotely resemble each other. Nevertheless, it keeps you on your toes!
Tip: if you want to drive the 'wine guy or girl' at the party nuts, have them blind taste a baco noir :)
At a Glance
Taste currant, sweet raisin anise
Smell cherry, sweet oak, plum
Food grilled vegetables
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 582841
Score

Chateau Pesquie Terrasses 2005

Date May 9, 2008 | Sean | France & Red Blend & Red Wine

O.k., this one was a little tricky. I feel like I'm walking on a sharp edge here. Just before being released this wine scored a VERY high mark from a well known wine critic. Sometimes when this happens our expectations for a sub $20 bottle of wine go through the roof.
This bottle of French wine was, well, obviously French. It held the characteristics of French wine from the medium structure tannins to earth notes and that rustic feeling that's hard to describe. However, upon further sipping you'll notice round fruit and implied sweetness breaking through. Then a marriage of tannins, fruit and alcohol suddenly come alive. While we throughly enjoyed this wine, perhaps our hopes were set a little too high?
Tip: In the bottle: Syrah and Grenache
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, plum, cedar
Smell plum, raspberry, vanilla
Food anything bbq
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 652313
Score
chateaupesquieterrassesred.jpg

Botalcura Reserve El Delirio Syrah Malbec 2005

Date May 7, 2008 | Sean | Chile & Red Blend & Red Wine

This bottle was picked up on a whim while looking for something cheap and cheerful while cruising through the liquor store on Tuesday evening after work. The blend of Syrah and Malbec was immediately interesting as both these grapes have some very specific characteristics. Syrah of course with it's bold and mouth filling spice and Malbec with its tannins and forward fruit. A match made in heaven?
The first sniff of the glass told me I was in for a treat. Right away the earthy Malbec was apparent followed by the raspberry and dark cherry of the Syrah. For the price, this is a very pleasing, mouth filling, lip smacking bottle of wine under $15.00!
Tip: Try it on it's own then with food, it softens so well. Going back to buy a few bottles.
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, raspberry, earth
Smell earth, cherry, plum
Food chicken souvlaki with tzatziki
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 18630
Score
Botalcura

Liberty School Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Date May 1, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

Here we have a nice California cab which the LCBO has dubbed as a 'Vintages Essential'. Best of all, this bottle has an affordable price tag.
Overall this wine is a winner. It strikes a nice balance between fruit, acidity and tannins. The wine is quite dry, but works surprisingly well on it's own.
Tip: saying it comes from 'Paso Robles' is catchy
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, dark cherry, spice
Smell ripe red fruit, cherry, vanilla
Food grilled, braised or roasted meats
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.85
LCBO# 738823
Score

Lindemans Bin 40 Merlot 2006

Date April 24, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Merlot & Red Wine

Bursting with ripe plum and dark berry flavours, this off dry Australian merlot can be sipped on it's own or paired with food. Noticeably, this wine is designed to be very palatable from the first pour to the last, it does not open up or oxidize as you make your way through the bottle.
For those taking note, get your pen out, as you could call this wine flabby.  To be balanced, it would need more tannin and acidity.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste grape, plum, vanilla
Smell plum, vanilla, menthol
Food roast beef
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.35
LCBO# 458679
Score

Hillebrand Trius Cabernet Sauvignon 2004

Date April 17, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Canada & Red Wine

The Trius cabernet sauvignon is a delicious medium-full bodied, slightly off-dry red that is a great value. Many times we think to ourselves when trying a slightly less expensive wine: "for a couple extra dollars I could have gotten something much better". This is one of those better wines for an extra tooney.
Winemaker's Notes: "Traditional skin contact, subtle French oak integration and full malolactic fermentation produced a wine with a fruit-forward style."

 

What all means is that the wine is well balanced. You won't find it too oaky, too tannic or too dry.
Tip: the elegant bottle design makes it a great hostess gift
At a Glance
Taste dried fruit, dark red fruit, spice
Smell blackberry, oak
Food roast beef, aged cheddar
Sweetness off dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 587956
Score

Spinelli Montepulciano d'Abruzzo

Date April 15, 2008 | Sean | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

VALUE!!! Now that I got that out of my system, lets begin. The night we tasted this wine the menu was hamburgers, chicken pot pie, and a salad that had red cabbage, onion, mango, kiwi and parmesan cheese in it (don't knock it till you try it, it was amazing). If you asked a somellier what to pair with that manic menu they would probably over heat and suggest beer.It's been hit and miss for me with lower priced Italian wines, but I think we might have found a new house favorite. Very pleasant red wine, non-offensive with nice soft fruit that left you wanting another sip.
Tip: Serve this to someone and ask them to guess the price.
 
At a Glance
Taste plum, fruity, earth
Smell ripe cherry, stone fruit, herb
Food beef stroganoff
Sweetness dry
Price $6.95
LCBO# 454629
Score
Spinelli

Red Guitar Old Vine Tempranillo Garnacha

Date April 12, 2008 | Sean | Red Blend & Red Wine & Spain

Take note of this wine from Spain, unlike other wines with cutesy names and uniform taste this wine is playing a different tune. Spanish wines are often very dry, dense and sharp. Spain has been making wine for a long time, but like Chile and South Africa its profile is on the rise.
I believe the wine maker set out to produce something different that would be welcome by most palats. And he succeeded. With lots of dark fruit flavors, berries and soft tannins this is an easy drinking wine on any occasion. As a bonus you can discover two grapes you may not have had yet.
Tip: Garnacha is Spanish for Grenache.
At a Glance
Taste currant, raspberry, plum
Smell spice, berries
Food braised beef, mushrooms
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.65
LCBO# 54007
Score
Red Guitar

Wolf Blass Eagle Hawk Shiraz 2006

Date April 5, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

Wolf Blass' Eagle Hawk shiraz is well crafted and simply put, an excellent value at under $13
This well balanced shiraz is definitely a crowd pleaser. I found it off-dry, fruit forward with a subtle spicy note on the finish along with medium tannins.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe plum, red berries, spice
Smell black cherry, caramel, pepper
Food grilled red meat
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.85
LCBO# 589564
Score

Memoria Primitivo di Manduria 2004

Date April 2, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Primitivo & Red Wine

Via DNA fingerprinting, it has been determined that Primitivo is essentially the same grape as California's Zinfandel, this vintage proves that grape type does not always result in a cookie cutter style.
Although quite palatable, it took me a few sips to lock down the aroma, but once I did, I found it a bit tough to get past it. My intention was to get California Zinfandel for a bargain basement price, but in this case I'll have to keep looking. If you looking for a very earthy, mushroomy, wet hay type of wine, you've just found it.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste wet hay, plum, green
Smell barnyard, earthy
Food old cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 687210
Score

Château des Charmes Gamay Noir 2006

Date March 25, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Gamay Noir & Red Wine

I'm betting the extra 5 dollars to get out of Chateau des Charmes' entry level gamay would have paid off.
Gamay is a light red to begin with, but I would have liked to taste some more prominent flavors in this vintage.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, raspberry
Smell raspberry, cherry, berries
Food grilled chicken
Sweetness dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 57349
Score

Goats do Roam 2006

Date March 22, 2008 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & South Africa

Before trying this wine, I've never seen a blend composed of so many different grapes before. The LCBO calls it a 'very popular blend-o-rama' and Fairview has made it work.
This vintage is a blend of primarily Shiraz (50%) and Pinotage (20%) with Cinsaut (10%), Mourvèdre (10%), Grenache (5%) and Carignan (5%)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste red plum, pepper
Smell medium red fruit, light spice, oak
Food burgers
Sweetness dry
Price $13.85
LCBO# 718940
Score

Perez Cruz Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2005

Date March 20, 2008 | Sean | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

A nosnob.com favorite for sure. We first found this wine a couple of years ago in a Vintages release and it was love at first drop. We have been recommending it and buying it ever since. I got to meet the wine maker back in November. I might have made an "I'm an obsessed scary stalker fan" first impression. More on that another time. Now to the wine...
This is a big bold gutsy wine and it's proud of it. Deep aromas and flavors of blackberry, chocolate, cherry. Just enough alcohol to warm the mouth and throat without being offensive. Get your butcher to cut you a perfect piece of moo and fire up the BBQ. Perez Cruz is coming to dinner.
 
At a Glance
Taste currants, chocolate, ripe berry
Smell toasted oak, ripe berry, cherry
Food bbq steak, pasta with meat sauce
Sweetness dry
Price $14.85
LCBO# 694208]
Score
Perez Cruz Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva Bottle

Henry of Pelham Baco Noir 2005

Date March 19, 2008 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Baco Noir is something every wine explorer should try. This intensely dark purple red isn't comparable to anything else, especially when it's characteristics did not line up at all with the last baco noir I reviewed from Pelee Island, therefore, if you find a winery who makes baco to your tastes, buy a few bottles.
This particular baco is medium bodied, acidic, lightly oaked and off-dry.
Tip: tulip glass after 2 years of bottle aging
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, plum
Smell plum, smokey, sweet
Food cheddar cheese
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.65
LCBO# 270926
Score

Rosenblum Zinfandel 2005

Date March 17, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

If your eyes are bugging you, see an ophthalmologist. If your tooth hurts, see a dentist. If you want a good benchmark zinfandel, try Rosenblum.
I think of zinfandel as the middle ground between cabernet sauvignon and shiraz with a zesty punch. Zinfandel is a terrific varietal, if only more people would be open to it, without a doubt it could (and should) be a staple in everyone's home. Don't forget that zin was the merlot of the 80's, times and palates change and like fashion, it all happens in cycles.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, raspberry, menthol
Smell strawberry, raspberry, vanilla
Food mediterranean, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $17.80
LCBO# 284653
Score

Peller Estates Heritage Series Cabernet Franc 2005

Date March 13, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

The noble cab franc is not always a great match for the beginning connoisseur’s palate. This wine like many others has it extremes and unfortunately this wasn’t on the end on the extreme one thrives to be on.
Most aromas and flavours weren’t very pronounced (possibly due to over blending and importing juice). All in all, it’s a fairly inexpensive dry red, however I do like my francs a little more fruit forward.
At a Glance
Taste smokey red and blackberry
Smell currant, spice
Food roast beef
Sweetness dry
Price $11.50
LCBO#  
Score

Black Anvil Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Date March 12, 2008 | Sean | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

This cab was sitting on the bottom shelf at the liquor store and I decided to give it a home. This wine certainly tries hard, but misses the mark. Not so much because of the wine its self, but the value. For about 2 bucks more there is some fierce competition this wine has to contend with.
The wine is a average attempt at Cabernet Sauvignon. Nothing was particularly interesting about it and nothing really wrong. When first opened it was tough to get through an alcohol smell to find the unripe cherries and plum scents. Hardly any detection of tannins, which could be good for people who don't like making that funny face like when standing to close to "buy a frigin bar of soap" guy on the subway.
Tip: Major improvements after being open 45 minutes.
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, cherry juice
Smell dark fruit, unripe cherry, plum
Food roasted vegetables
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 45575
Score
Black Anvil Cabernet Sauvignon Bottle

Cline Syrah 2007

Date March 10, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Coming from Sonoma, California this Syrah is an excellent value wine. The blueberry/blackberry is very forward but not overpowering of the spicy/peppery finish. The only critique I have with it is the slightly bitter finish which lessens as the wine breathes.
By the way, incase you were wondering: Shiraz, Syrah, potatoe, potato. But if you every find yourself in Australia or South Africa, say Shiraz. Otherwise, Syrah.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste blueberry, plum, leather
Smell blueberry, pepper
Food grilled meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.85
LCBO# 733758
Score

Christian Moueix Merlot 2003

Date March 7, 2008 | Chuck | France & Merlot & Red Wine

Yes, some people may say it's only merlot, but this merlot is by Christian Moueix.   Not sure who that is? that's ok, neither did I until researching him and found he is the mastermind behind wines such as Dominus which at the time of writing the 2004 goes for just over $200/bottle. Too rich for my blood, unless I get a transfusion. But I think I may be getting a deal on this $14.85 bottle.
Pour this wine into your glass 5-10 minutes in advance as it opens up nicely.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe dark fruit, blackberry
Smell raspberry, strawberry, cedar
Food baked pasta
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.85
LCBO# 961227
Score

Tangley Oaks Merlot 2003

Date March 6, 2008 | Sean | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

I'm now convinced there might be such a thing as heaven. California makes a variety of wines at many price points. Good California wine is known for its price tag and the sky is the limit. At $17.95 a bottle this wine drinks like something double the price. This is simply awesome wine.
We always approach a bottle of Merlot with some caution, you never really know what your going to get. This is an incredibly well structured wine with amazing length and great earthy soft finish. Tonnes of flavors and smells to fill your glass.
 
Tip: Drink before 2011
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, dried fig, tea
Smell plum, berry jam, coffee
Food burger with caramelized onions and cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 68155
Score
Tangley Oaks Metlot 2003

Miguel Torres Santa Digna Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve 2004

Date March 5, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

Anyone else notice the small Chilean invasion on the site lately? Here's why, good quality, no-frills wine at a fair price, and this cabernet proves the point. You don't have to just take our word for it, the LCBO has labeled this a 'vintages essential'. I think I'm going to assign myself the mission of tasting all the essential picks from the LCBO, it's my mission and I choose to accept it...no...don't stop me, and if I'm not done in a few months, just wait longer :)
This red has a lengthy finish so it's best paired with a hearty meal.
Tip: let this wine open up if the tannins are too much at first
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, leather, tea
Smell plum, earth, oak
Food steak
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 177451
Score

Viu Manent Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2004

Date March 2, 2008 | Sean | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

Another outstanding bargain here. This is a rather big cab and pretty dry. What's nice about it is the very obvious cherry and wild berry flavor. It smells absolutely amazing the minute it hit the glass. One of the few times I have detected blueberries in the smell from a cab. It's obviously a Cab Sav, but there is something different about it.
Tip: March 1, 2008 Vintages Release - hurry! Room temp.
At a Glance
Taste wild cherry, wild raspberry, licorice
Smell blueberry, chocolate, cassis
Food chicken or veal parm, chicken pot pie
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.75
LCBO# 59196
Score
viu-manentcabernet.jpg

Hillebrand Collectors' Choice Cabernet Merlot 2004

Date March 2, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

With this meritage of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc grapes, Hillebrand has created an easy going, medium bodied and very very smooth red blend. Coming from some of Niagara's warmest vineyards and aged in oak barrels for a year, this vintage is very compatible with a wide array of food.
 
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, cherry, very mild oak
Smell strawberry, roasted red bell pepper, cherry
Food italian
Price $16.45
LCBO#  
Score

Bodegas Castano Hecula 2005

Date March 1, 2008 | Chuck | Monastrell & Red Wine & Spain

This spanish red has an amazing inky violet colour that lasts all the way to the rim. The flavours are very deep and intense as you pickup on the oak, blackberry, vanilla, tar with a hint of tobacco. The bouquet features a cherry, cassis and cedar.
Dry red lovers will love the chewy tannins on the finish. An excellent value wine.
Tip: balloon glass, no quality loss on second day
At a Glance
Taste oak, blackberry, vanilla
Smell cherry, cassis, cedar
Food red meat, pasta with red sauce
Sweetness extra dry
Price $13.85
LCBO# 718999
Score

Ernest and Julio Gallo Cabernet Sauvignon 2006

Date February 25, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

E&J is a house-hold name in California wines, releases this medium body, slightly sweet cabernet sauvignon. I shouldn't be bias here, but I'm not a fan of sweet cabs, however I wasn't the only one at the table who wasn't a fan. I could however see myself gulping down this red in the summer heat when I'm thirsty.
I did however get a surprise I truly wasn't expecting with this mass produced wine, and that was sediment. At least it was strange to me, anyone else have this happen ?
Tip: balloon glass this wine and decant of yours has sediment too.
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, mixed berries
Smell berry, red liquorice, floral
Food medium cheeses
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $10.40
LCBO# 223552
Score

Rocca Delle Macie Chianti Classico 2005

Date February 23, 2008 | Chuck | Chianti & Italy & Red Wine

Chianti is Italy's most famous wine, and rightly so, it's an excellent varietal that goes very well with (surprise) Italian food.The winemakers at Rocca Delle Macie are chianti specialists and this vintage is proof in a bottle. Enjoy it's fruit and oak flavours with a touch of black pepper in it's long dry finish.
Interesting: Try a taste test between normal chianti and chianti classico. See if you can taste the difference between the types due to aging and grape quality. The classico will be much more sophisticated and less table wine like.
Tip: swish this chianti around for 5 seconds to get a hit of black pepper (sans sneeze)
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, oak, black pepper
Smell raspberry, oak, earth
Food antipasto, pasta
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.80
LCBO# 741769
Score

Yellow Tail Merlot 2006

Date February 23, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Merlot & Red Wine

Yellow Tail....ahhh, the world's top selling brand. Lets begin.
This is definitely a love it or hate it wine, I found it to be in a class on it's own. If you're a typical merlot drinker, you may not like this one. If you're not a typical wine drinker you may love this wine.
This wine has been labeled as being created in the boardroom rather than in the vineyards (translation: that's what the kids call a 'diss', or what adults call an insult). So they try to appease the masses, good business and it shows, hell, they are the first winery I've found to display Nutritional Information.
Tip: open this bottle up for non-winedrinkers, you just may convert them to the dark side ;)
At a Glance
Taste an entire spice rack, juicy ripe fruit
Smell plum, oak, vanilla
Food bbq
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.20
LCBO# 625350
Score

Pelee Island Baco Noir 2006

Date February 22, 2008 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Picture yourself at a gathering huddled around the bar, uncorking a bottle and someone feels the need to review a wine aloud and says “I can taste earth and smell forest”. You think to yourself, what the heck..I’m just having some wine here! This bold baco noir will make you a believer and will make you say “oh yea, I can really taste and smell what that guy is talking about”. It’s medium body with a nice finish make this wine a good one to have on hand.
Tip: try this baco noir over merlot on your next pizza night
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, blackcurrant
Smell earthy, wet forest
Food pizza
Price $10.95
Sweetness dry
LCBO# 485128
Score

Jackson-Triggs Proprietors’ Selection Pinot Noir

Date February 22, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Pinot Noir & Red Wine

Crafting a good pinot noir is not an easy task, it’s even more difficult to pull off for under 13 dollars. If you are an old hand at pinot noir, you know they have their ups and downs, if you are new to pinot noir, don’t let this one shy you away from trying other vintages.
Tip: let this pinot open up in the glass for 5 minutes before serving and enjoy it with food.
At a Glance
Taste raisin, black tea, black cherry
Smell cherry, jam, strawberry
Food soft cheeses, chicken
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.50
LCBO# 549105
Score

Concha y Toro Casillero Del Diablo Cabernet Sauvignon 2006

Date February 20, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

An excellent example of a Chilean cab that’s pushing new world wines to the forefront!
This deep red, leggy wine paired quite well with BBQ steak and pizza. Enjoy it’s well balanced flavours of cassis, black cherry and mocha
Tip: pour it in your balloon glass 10 minutes before drinking.
At a Glance
Taste red berry, leather, black cherry
Smell cassis, berry, mocha
Food bbq steak
Sweetness dry
Price $12.85
LCBO# 278416
Score


« < [1] [2] [3] [4] 
38 Articles per page