Reviews in Category: Red Wine (Clear Filter)

Barefoot Merlot

Date April 11, 2013 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

I've had better bottles from Barefoot.  This one is a pretty simple medium bodied off dry weekday merlot.  Give their Shiraz a go.
Alcohol Content: 13.5%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, vanilla, chocolate
Smell dark berry, cherry, raspberry
Food bbq lunch
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 53991
Score

Red Rock Malbec Reserve 2010

Date December 16, 2012 | Chuck | Malbec & Red Wine & USA

While typically not a fan of malbecs, this one is quite good. I liked the fruit forward characteristics of it - which aren't seen in malbecs from places like South America, making this bottle...very...Californian.
I disagree with the LCBO's sweetness descriptor of Extra Dry. Dry it is, Extra it is not.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste mulberry, oak, cherry
Smell mulberry, currant, oak
Food beef, asiago
Sweetness dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 284315
Score

Barefoot Shiraz

Date December 8, 2012 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Barefoot could very well be leading the way on value wines nowadays (Yellow Tail fans...take note)
Having a value shiraz on hand that's also a crowd pleaser is always handy. Pickup a few bottles since they are currently under $10 in Ontario.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark berry jam, spice, vanilla oak
Smell blackberry, jammy, spice
Food french onion soup
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 54015
Score

Dancing Bull Zinfandel 2010

Date October 6, 2012 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

This wine has a great profile however while drinking it I found it lacks mouthfeel and depth. Both key aspects this California Zinfandel lover craves.
I will say Dancing Bull is a good value if you are just getting into zins. (Expect to pay an extra 5 to 6 dollars to get the depth).
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste spice, raspberry, oak
Smell blueberry, cherry, oak
Food anything grilled, asiago
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 669499
Score

 

Poderi Angelini Primitivo Di Manduria 2008

Date September 20, 2012 | Chuck | Italy & Primitivo & Red Wine

Easily the best Primitivo we've reviewed on this site. Extra dry, firm tannins and plenty of depth makes this a great match for fans of Italian reds and Italian food.
Special thanks to Nurse Nancy for the bottle! It was enjoyed with family and Sunday lunch.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe strawberry, oak, light vanilla
Smell mulberry, dark cherry, light oak
Food italian
Sweetness extra dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 268136
Score

Fontana Di Papa Castelli Romani 2010

Date September 14, 2012 | Chuck | Italy & Red Blend & Red Wine

Well, this wine isn't giving me much to work with, but that's because it's your very basic Italian D.O.C. table wine. One of the least expensive reds I've seen at the LCBO, not because all their wines are great, it's because the prices are beyond terrible in Ontario and not much better country wide.
Made From: Cesanese, Sangiovese, Merlot, Montepulciano (unsure of the percentages). 12.0% Alcohol/Vol
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste medium berry, dried fruit, vanilla
Smell cherry, light fruit
Food grilled meat, mild cheddar
Sweetness extra dry
Price $7.45
LCBO# 219634
Score

Bear Flag Red Blend

Date September 3, 2012 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

As stated on the label it's a very smooth and fruit forward red blend with soft tannins.  A blend comprised of: Tempranillo, Touriga, Zinfandel, and Alicante.
Liked it more after decanting.  The artwork is interesting but personally I don't like having to hunt for information on the bottle.  Even once found it was hard to read against the background.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dried cherries, blackberry, vanilla
Smell dried cherries, blackberry, vanilla
Food bbq
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 226514
Score

Apothic Red 2010

Date August 18, 2012 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

The label says "Winemaker's Blend" and they weren't joking! This wine is made using Zinfandel, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.
Overall I believe the amount of blending in this bottle muted much of the contributor's individuality. In a blind tasting I would guess it's just a Syrah/Merlot blend.
Tip: tasted better the next day, so try decanting after opening
At a Glance
Taste vanilla, dark fruit, mocha
Smell plum, vanilla
Food cheddar cheese
Sweetness off dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 234369
Score

35 South Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2009

Date July 15, 2012 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

A big, fruit forward, juicy cabernet sauvignon from Chile isn't something I've had in years.  They had a good run in 2007-2008 but it's been an uphill battle ever since.  Was pleasantly surprised with this bottle.
A strong red weighing in at 14.0 %
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste rasin, cassis, oak
Smell rasin, dark berry, oak
Food cheese, red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 170019
Score

Sandbanks Selection Baco Noir 2010

Date June 8, 2012 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Deep, rich, flavourful and fruit forward. VQA from Prince Edward County.
LCBO number below reflects the 2009 vintage, review is for 2010
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, leather, vanilla
Smell blackberry, chocolate, vanilla
Food pizza, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 211318
Score

Mirassou Pinot Noir 2010

Date January 9, 2012 | Chuck | Pinot Noir & Red Wine & USA

A soft, fruit forward, easy drinking (very) California pinot noir
Pickup a few bottles, it makes a great house pinot
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, vanilla, raspberry
Smell cherry, plum, vanilla
Food salmon, risotto
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 185249
Score

Hardys Bankside Shiraz 2009

Date October 11, 2011 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

A great Aussie shiraz for the price, I can recommend buying a couple for the rack.
Works as a nice benchmark shiraz for beginners and intermediate wine lovers.
Tip: Stock up on a few
At a Glance
Taste dark currant, medium berry, warm spice
Smell raspberry, leather, dark chocolate
Food red meat, bbq, ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 436022
Score

Château Poitevin 2003

Date June 21, 2011 | Chuck | Bordeaux & France & Red Wine

The second saddest part about cellaring is that when you finally decide to reach for one and it's great, you can't get any more.  Unless you bought a case to begin with.
Release Date: Sometime in 2007
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste spicy fruit, blueberry, leather
Smell dark fruit, spice, leather
Food ribs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Avalon Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date April 19, 2011 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

This vintages release is a great way to drink some full bodied, fruit forward California Cab at a great price. I will be picking up a few more bottles on my next trip.
Release Date: March 19, 2011
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, blueberry, leather
Smell blackberry, blueberry, cinnamon
Food pasta, pizza
Sweetness dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 684399
Score

Farnese Negroamaro 2009

Date February 4, 2011 | Chuck | Italy & Negroamaro & Red Wine

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Farnese is the best at what they do, and what they do is produce good, consistent, Italian IGT wines at more than affordable prices, vintage after vintage. Their Sangiovese has been my house wine for over 2 years, this Negroamaro will have some constant shelf space as well. If I could change anything, I would add a little more structure / edge - but then again, I'd get a Sangiovese clone.
To sum up: easy drinking, fruit forward, very little oak, high alcohol at 13.5% but you don't taste it whatsoever. Nice tannins felt along the gumline on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, blueberry, herbaceous
Smell black cherry, blueberry, vanilla
Food pizza, hard cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 143735
Score

Colio Lake and River Series Cabernet Franc 2008

Date January 11, 2011 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

Franc is harder to find than it should be, this bottle is medium light, food friendly and fruit forward - a good intro to theis varietal.
Made from 100% Cabernet Franc. Alcohol Content: 12.2%
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, raspberry, herbaceous
Smell raspberry, strawberry, pepper
Food pizza, burger
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 183079
Score

Southbrook Cabernet Merlot Shiraz 2006

Date November 1, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

I think this should be the typical three grapes for a meritage. An excellent blend for the price.
The shiraz shines well in this dry, mid-full bodied vintage.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, black pepper, mocha
Smell red berry, earth, pepper
Food bbq ribs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 45609
Score

Spinelli Malbec 2008

Date October 28, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Malbec & Red Wine

Glad to announce Spinelli remains one of the LCBO's great bargains. If you aren't a big malbec fan (personally I'm not after all the misses I've had with them) give this a shot because it's not in the traditional style. Much more fruit forward and jammy, almost like a Merlot-Cab-Malbec mix.
This bottle scored extra points because of the price and wide usage as a bottle to open any day of the week or bring over to dinner at a friend's place.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, plum, jam
Smell dark berry, coffee, cigar
Food mexican
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 143750
Score

Folonari Valpolicella 2009

Date September 27, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

Even though there isn't a lot going on in the glass, it's not a bad choice at all for casual bbq food. Not sure if this is really LCBO #828 or what I have listed below, the price difference is 4 more dollars.
This valpolicella is a blend of 65% Corvina, 25% Rondinella, 10% Molinara
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, oak
Smell cherry, oak, raspberry
Food pizza, burgers
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 6254
Score

KWV Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date September 4, 2010 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & South Africa

Well there isn't a huge story behind this bottle but it is a good easy drinking wine for a weekday evening.
Put this bottle in the fridge for 20 minutes before opening
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, cedar, cigar
Smell cedar, cherry, plum
Food grilled red meats, medium cheeses
Sweetness dry
Price $10.00
LCBO# 22004
Score

Ironstone Vineyards Merlot 2007

Date July 30, 2010 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

This merlot drinks much like a California cab. It has a full mouthfeel and is very well balanced.
Ironstone continues to be a great value for under $20
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, plum
Smell cola, black cherry, pomegranate
Food steak, pork, veal
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 704353
Score

Fazi Battaglia Sangiovese 2007

Date February 17, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Sangiovese

Yes, another bottle that proves that Italian wine always goes with Italian food. It's a good sangiovese at a good price, worth a try any day.

Warning: This bottle is so Italian you may be inclined to make your own tomato sauce.

Tip: Serve slightly chilled

At a Glance
Taste plum, sour cherry, light oak
Smell pomegranate, sour cherry, light oak
Food italian
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 326306
Score

Pelee Island Merlot Reserve 2008

Date January 17, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & Merlot & Red Wine

Well this VQA is alright to drink but it's not giving me a whole lot to write about...It's a middle of the road, classic Ontario red - a pretty safe bet for any red meat.
Grapes: 85% Merlot, 15% Zweigelt. Do I know what Zweigelt is? I do not.
Tip: Serve slightly chilled
At a Glance
Taste dark berry, oak, vanilla
Smell black cherry, dark berry, light oak
Food grilled red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 612622
Score

Jacob's Creek Shiraz Cabernet 2006

Date January 8, 2010 | Chuck | Australia & Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & Shiraz

Overall a fairly well rounded blend, although the two varietals together made me lean towards a merlot; since the shiraz's pepper notes weren't announcing themselves loudly.  Medium oak and rich plum were the center of attention in this bottle.
The bottle says this wine has won a few Asian awards...maybe my food pairing was wrong...lemme know!
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste dark fruit, oak, plum
Smell plum, dark berry, black cherry
Food grilled lamb chops
Sweetness dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 106377
Score

Camplazens Syrah 2006

Date November 29, 2009 | Chuck | France & Red Wine & Shiraz

At first sip you can tell this is a french wine without even trying.   The LCBO gave this wine a nice writeup but I'll disagree with it.  They saw plenty of blackberry, fruit and spice, I didn't.  They also mention it's 'very drinkable tonight', while I'd cellar it for 2 years.
At least it's 13.5% Alcohol/Vol.
Tip: If your buying syrah/shiraz, go Aussie (Penfolds), then Californian (Cline)
At a Glance
Taste oak, heat, red berry
Smell oak, resin, greens
Food well done grilled red meat
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 104752
Score

Carlo Rossi California Red 2007

Date October 31, 2009 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

Everyone loves choices, with this wine you can choose to buy it in a: bottle, large format bottle, funny jug with a ring handle and even a box. America #$@% YEAH!
This wine conjures up memories of a previous review: Charles Shaw Merlot 2007
Tip: price listed is for the 1.5L bottle, don't buy what you can't drink within 2 days.
At a Glance
Taste cherry, plum, vanilla
Smell vanilla, cherry, plum
Food cold cuts
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.45
LCBO# 00070813
Score

Charles Shaw Merlot 2007

Date October 10, 2009 | Sean | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

Only in America? This merlot came to us for $1.99. Often called two-buck-chuck, this wine is mostly found at Trader Joe's in the United States. One thing is certain, we have never  encountered two-dollar wine in Canada...god bless America.
First thing is the colour, yeah thats right I spelled it with a "u". Get over it. Great dark purple, with light edges. We were  actually surprised as this wine is not offensive, easy drinking and generally "not bad". Does that make it a California Cab? Hell no.  But, if your having a group over or making large quantities of Sangria.
Tip: chill slightly
At a Glance
Taste cherry, strawberry, berry jam
Smell vanilla, strawberry, cherry cola
Food cheese nachos, cheddar, cold cuts
Sweetness off dry
Price $1.99
LCBO# 0
Score

Tatone Montepulciano d'Abruzzo 2005

Date September 13, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

For those wondering, Tatone means 'grandfather'. This Italian wine is rich, dry and full bodied.
The first thing you'll notice is the deep purple colour and legs on this wine.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, oak, bitters
Smell mulberry, black cherry, oak
Food grilled portobello mushrooms
Sweetness extra dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 994616
Score

Ironstone Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date August 9, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

A benchmark California cab. Very approachable and hits all the marks one would expect.
Because I've cellared this bottle for a while, I couldn't find it's LCBO number, but be sure to check out their next vintage when it hits shelves.  I've just put their merlot on my shopping list: VINTAGES# 704353
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cassis, dark cherry, chocolate
Smell cassis, dark cherry, toasted oak
Food grilled red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $18.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Rosehall Run Cabernet Franc 2007

Date July 12, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

If you're not a regular Cab Franc buyer, give this bottle one last shot and it may change your mind. The warm growing season allowed the grapes to ripen well and therefore reduce the sometimes overpowering green notes of this varietal.
Vintages Release is on Aug 29, 2009
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste rich red fruit, oak, smoke
Smell black cherry, currant, sweet smoke
Food grilled red meat, game
Sweetness dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Ruffino Il Ducale 2005

Date June 21, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Sangiovese

Here's a great example of a Super Tuscan done right. This IGT wine is only IGT because it bent the rules slightly but it was worth it. A very close cousin to chianti, this bottle will pair well with any Italian food or bbq'd red meat. Overall it's nice and round, medium to full bodied with smooth tannins.
Blend is: 60% sangiovese, 25% merlot and 15% syrah
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark cherry, chocolate, cigar box
Smell plum, cherry, warm spice
Food grilled red meat, ravioli
Sweetness dry
Price $19.80
LCBO# 27797
Score

Candidato Oro 2005

Date May 24, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & Spain & Tempranillo

The aromas were much easier to identify than the flavours in this particular wine.  To add to the tasting notes below, there was something sweet and sour about this wine that stood out especially when mixed with herbaceous notes.
Although mostly tempranillo, this vintage was also blended with some grenache.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour berry, tomato leaf, bitters
Smell sweet smoke, spice, blueberry
Food cold cuts
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 523811
Score

Voga Quattro 2006

Date May 3, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Red Blend & Red Wine

At first glance this bottle looks like something shampoo would come it, but once on the table with the cap off, it feels kind of futuristic. Overall this is a pretty good wine, a little bit more than the lower end reds but it's worth the extra 3.50. Overall it's a dry, medium bodied wine with soft acidity and ripe tannins.
4-Way Blend (quatto means four in Italian): Merlot, Shiraz, Pinot Noir and Cabernet.  Surprisingly, the pinot really does shine through.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, spice, light oak
Smell red berry, raspberry, white pepper
Food veal marsala
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 78048
Score

Fuzion Shiraz Malbec 2008

Date April 19, 2009 | Chuck | Argentina & Malbec & Red Wine & Shiraz

Not too distinctive but very Argentine, this blend of shiraz and malbec makes a fine wine to drink with anything bbq'd.
The malbec seems as if it's muting some of the shiraz's best qualities and thus giving this vintage a slightly unsophisticated palate; however, for the asking price I can look the other way.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste plum, prune, violet
Smell prune, black cherry, earth
Food barbecue
Sweetness dry
Price $7.45
LCBO# 83188
Score

Liberty School Zinfandel 2006

Date April 2, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

When I tried their 2005 Cabernet I made a mental note to remember the name Liberty School.   I'm glad I did.
Their label sums it up nicely: "fruit-driven, soft and approachable".  The tannins are present but not overpowering which lets the drinker enjoy it on it's own or paired with food.
Tip: Released on Jan 17, 2009
At a Glance
Taste dark ripe berry, warm spice, vanilla
Smell dark ripe berry, warm spice, cherry
Food beef, steak, sausage
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 41095
Score


« < [1] [2] [3] [4] > » 
38 Articles per page