Reviews in Category: Shiraz (Clear Filter)

Barefoot Shiraz

Date December 8, 2012 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Barefoot could very well be leading the way on value wines nowadays (Yellow Tail fans...take note)
Having a value shiraz on hand that's also a crowd pleaser is always handy. Pickup a few bottles since they are currently under $10 in Ontario.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark berry jam, spice, vanilla oak
Smell blackberry, jammy, spice
Food french onion soup
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 54015
Score

Hardys Bankside Shiraz 2009

Date October 11, 2011 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

A great Aussie shiraz for the price, I can recommend buying a couple for the rack.
Works as a nice benchmark shiraz for beginners and intermediate wine lovers.
Tip: Stock up on a few
At a Glance
Taste dark currant, medium berry, warm spice
Smell raspberry, leather, dark chocolate
Food red meat, bbq, ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 436022
Score

Jacob's Creek Shiraz Cabernet 2006

Date January 8, 2010 | Chuck | Australia & Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & Shiraz

Overall a fairly well rounded blend, although the two varietals together made me lean towards a merlot; since the shiraz's pepper notes weren't announcing themselves loudly.  Medium oak and rich plum were the center of attention in this bottle.
The bottle says this wine has won a few Asian awards...maybe my food pairing was wrong...lemme know!
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste dark fruit, oak, plum
Smell plum, dark berry, black cherry
Food grilled lamb chops
Sweetness dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 106377
Score

Camplazens Syrah 2006

Date November 29, 2009 | Chuck | France & Red Wine & Shiraz

At first sip you can tell this is a french wine without even trying.   The LCBO gave this wine a nice writeup but I'll disagree with it.  They saw plenty of blackberry, fruit and spice, I didn't.  They also mention it's 'very drinkable tonight', while I'd cellar it for 2 years.
At least it's 13.5% Alcohol/Vol.
Tip: If your buying syrah/shiraz, go Aussie (Penfolds), then Californian (Cline)
At a Glance
Taste oak, heat, red berry
Smell oak, resin, greens
Food well done grilled red meat
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 104752
Score

Fuzion Shiraz Malbec 2008

Date April 19, 2009 | Chuck | Argentina & Malbec & Red Wine & Shiraz

Not too distinctive but very Argentine, this blend of shiraz and malbec makes a fine wine to drink with anything bbq'd.
The malbec seems as if it's muting some of the shiraz's best qualities and thus giving this vintage a slightly unsophisticated palate; however, for the asking price I can look the other way.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste plum, prune, violet
Smell prune, black cherry, earth
Food barbecue
Sweetness dry
Price $7.45
LCBO# 83188
Score

Fish Eye Shiraz 2005

Date November 1, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Different name, different label, different light green bottle...different thoughts of what shiraz is supposed to be. That said I'm not surprised at what I got: a shiraz with no pop. A proper shiraz should have blackberry, pepper and leather notes to it. But they're nowhere to be found in this vintage.
Take this for what it is: an easy, medium-light bodied summer sipper. If tasted blind, you'd guess merlot.
Tip: you'll want to chill this shiraz more than a typical one.
At a Glance
Taste medium berry, cherry, raspberry
Smell medium berry, hint of oak
Food grilled vegetables, sandwiches
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 35113
Score

Ubuntu Shiraz 2006

Date October 17, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

I'm trying to work out if this wine is popular to younger buyers due to it's price point or the high alcohol content...maybe (probably) both.  Still, the wine is not a bad buy. It doesn't however stick to the main characteristics of shiraz and I'm finding that new world wines (especially from South Africa) aren't a fan of abiding by old (good/proper) standards. 2 stars as the night's first bottle, 2.5 stars as the night's second bottle.
What does Ubuntu mean? Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'Humanity to others', or 'I am what I am because of who we all are'.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, tangy oak, light spice
Smell raspberry jam, cedar, vanilla
Food bbq ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $9.45
LCBO# 665281
Score

Obikwa Shiraz 2007

Date July 30, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

Let this value priced shiraz open up for about 20 minutes before drinking. Once mellowed, you'll find it quite palatable and very food friendly.
Not a whole lot to report back about, this bottle is your run of the mill - not bad - decent value - South African shiraz. If you're running in and out of the wine shop to pickup a picnic red, give it an extra half star.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste plum, spice, blackberry
Smell red fruit, spice, cassis
Food vegetarian lasagna
Sweetness dry
Price $9.50
LCBO# 527499
Score

Goats Do Roam Goat-Roti 2005

Date July 16, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

Alright, I think these guys are taking the whole goat theme a bit too far, considering they already tapped that well with the Goats do Roam bottle. I picked up this bottle because the aforementioned wine wasn't a bad value, this generation did not follow suit as well as I'd hoped.
For a new world wine, especially from South Africa, I almost expect a lesson on the back label about the varietal (shiraz, viognier), but rather find myself reading a novel about...what else....elder goats.
Tip: chill more than usual for a shiraz.  If you have this bottle, drink it in 2010 (it should be at least a 2.5 by then)
At a Glance
Taste plum, tar, licorice
Smell plum, blueberry, licorice
Food anything bbq
Sweetness extra dry
Price $19.80
LCBO# 943175
Score

Rosemount Diamond Label Shiraz 2005

Date June 27, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

Australia is a great place to pickup a shiraz, and for general list, this one's not bad but I was expecting a little more balance on the tannin side and was left wanting more of a pepper note which this varietal is so famous for.
As far as shiraz goes, this one is easy drinking and smooth. My thoughts are this vintage is slightly overpriced, but I suppose someone's gotta pay for this fancy bottle :)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, vanilla, dark fruit
Smell ripe dark fruit, subtle spice
Food lamb
Sweetness dry
Price $15.85
LCBO# 302349
Score

Chantovent Shiraz 2001

Date June 13, 2008 | Chuck | France & Red Wine & Shiraz

Cellaring the right bottles and opening them at peak is a great experience.  I've had this bottle in my rack for 3 or 4 years, and over the years it's conjured up an very complex yet balanced nose.
As good as the feeling is, it's not as fun when you find out you can't get your hands on any more (at least until you visit the winery in the South of France)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe dark berries, oak
Smell raspberry, plum, vanilla
Food burgers, roast beef
Sweetness dry
Price $11.05
LCBO# 589457
Score

Hope Estate Shiraz 2006

Date May 18, 2008 | Sean | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

Picked up this wine on a Friday night after a long and exhausting work week. It was one of several that made it in to the basket somewhere between some inexpensive Sangiovese and some white stuff. Talk about a rose between two thorns.
The moment the cork came out of the bottle I knew something was up, which immediately prompted a call to Chuck telling him to get to the liquor store. This is a very lively and expressive wine, full of fruit and spices with a nice bold middle and easy finish. It had all the hallmarks of Shiraz but with a something a little more interesting that kept me coming back for more. 6 bottles will me making their way in to my collection for sure.
Tip: I'm a very picky Shiraz drinker, loved this one.
At a Glance
Taste wild strawberry, wild raspberry, pepper
Smell black cherry, raspberry, plum
Food mediterranean, bbq
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 59998
Score
Hope Estate Shiraz

Wolf Blass Eagle Hawk Shiraz 2006

Date April 5, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

Wolf Blass' Eagle Hawk shiraz is well crafted and simply put, an excellent value at under $13
This well balanced shiraz is definitely a crowd pleaser. I found it off-dry, fruit forward with a subtle spicy note on the finish along with medium tannins.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe plum, red berries, spice
Smell black cherry, caramel, pepper
Food grilled red meat
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.85
LCBO# 589564
Score

Cline Syrah 2007

Date March 10, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Coming from Sonoma, California this Syrah is an excellent value wine. The blueberry/blackberry is very forward but not overpowering of the spicy/peppery finish. The only critique I have with it is the slightly bitter finish which lessens as the wine breathes.
By the way, incase you were wondering: Shiraz, Syrah, potatoe, potato. But if you every find yourself in Australia or South Africa, say Shiraz. Otherwise, Syrah.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste blueberry, plum, leather
Smell blueberry, pepper
Food grilled meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.85
LCBO# 733758
Score


[1] 
38 Articles per page