Reviews in Category: White Wine (Clear Filter)

Copper Moon Riesling

Date September 10, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

I gave one of the less expensive rieslings a shot today and can say you really need to spend a few more bucks to get a proper bottle of this varietal (in Ontario anyways).  I found this wine to be slightly unbalanced and overly tart with a finish that doesn't make you reach for the glass.  Would be ok ice cold on a hot day.
Alcohol/Vol 11.5%
At a Glance
Taste honeydew, pear, floral
Smell peach, citrus, floral
Food appetizers
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 224295
Score

 

Trius Rosé 2012

Date July 20, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & Rosé & White Wine

This is a dry rose.  Not a cavity generating white zinfandel.
Made using juice from: Shiraz, Merlot and Cabernet Franc.  Alcohol/Vol 12.1%
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, strawberry, cherry
Smell strawberry, raspberry, citrus
Food salads, vegetables
Sweetness dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 341743
Score

 

Megalomaniac Homegrown Riesling VQA 2013

Date June 18, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

I had no idea this was going to be a sweet riesling but I enjoyed it for a glass and a half regardless.  It was liked by non wine lovers as well.  I would sip this on its own ice cold.  Keeps pretty well for 2 days in the fridge.
Alcohol/Vol 10.5%
At a Glance
Taste sweet white grape, pear, floral
Smell pear, mineral, sweet syrup
Food chinese
Sweetness sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 183061
Score

 

Pillitteri Gewurztraminer Riesling 2012

Date May 5, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

A medium-sweet flavourful white wine.  Sip this on it's own or enjoy it with apps or a ham dinner.  Keeps pretty well for 2 days in the fridge.
VQA wine.  Alcohol/Vol 12%
At a Glance
Taste pear, peach, honeydew
Smell pear, peach, honeydew
Food ham
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349126
Score

 

Trius Chardonnay 2013

Date April 22, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & Chardonnay & White Wine

The description on the bottle is fairly accurate but this wine is one of those wines where the aroma is very different from the flavour.  It smells more like a riesling/sauv blanc than a chardonnay, but the flavour and mouthfeel is mistakenly a chard.
VQA wine.  Cool fermented on lees (sur lie).  Alcohol/Vol 13%
At a Glance
Taste melon, oak, vanilla
Smell pineapple, mineral, lime
Food sipper
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 497248
Score

 

Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc 2014

Date December 29, 2014 | Chuck | New Zealand & Sauvignon Blanc & White Wine

A bright citrus aroma is very noticeable right away followed by a mineral mouthfeel. On the finish you get the classic grass/hay flavour you'd expect from a nice sauvignon blanc. The overall profile is very crisp and dry.
Alcohol/Vol: 11.0%
At a Glance
Taste passion fruit, mineral, citrus
Smell lime, pineapple, mineral
Food scallops
Sweetness extra dry
Price $18.95
LCBO# 316570
Score

Inniskillin Unoaked Chardonnay 2012

Date November 14, 2014 | Chuck | Canada & Chardonnay & White Wine

This unoaked chardonnay is quite crisp and not at all buttery.  The lemon and citrus are sharp and would go well with a fatty seafood or fish dish. 
One of the better wines we've seen from Inniskillin (not a favourite around here).  I think this wine is weighing in a bit too heavy at 13.5% Alcohol/Vol.
 
At a Glance
Taste lemon, mineral, green apple
Smell lemon, grapefruit, mineral
Food fish
Sweetness dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 66266
Score

 

Sawmill Creek Riesling

Date August 15, 2014 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

Look at us staying true to our roots after all these years! This large format bottle (1.5L) was a bargain and a crowd pleaser.
Breaking News: this wine also comes as bag-in-a-box! (4L for $36.95 is a mega score...not counting the impending walk of shame)
Editors Note: a 'walk of shame' can be caused by any beverage with a percent sign on the label (not just this wine)
At a Glance
Taste peach, melon, mineral
Smell honeydew, peach, citrus
Food appetizers, fish
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $16.00
LCBO# 263079
Score

Reif Estate Riesling 2011

Date June 29, 2014 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This bottle was discovered by my Mom and is a great find. The wine was very crisp and had plenty of depth from first sip to the end of a long finish. Lime and stone-fruit push through most in this slightly off dry Riesling
Pick up a few bottles if you see it on the shelves (it's a crowd pleaser).
Serve in a chilled wine glass. Alcohol/Vol 12.0%
At a Glance
Taste lime, honeydew, mineral
Smell mineral, peach, lime
Food appetizers
Sweetness off dry - medium sweet
Price $12.95
LCBO# 111799
Score

 

Mill Street Barley Wine 2013

Date December 12, 2013 | Chuck | Barley & Canada & White Wine

Well is this beer or wine or something else altogether? My Answer: something else.  My final thought: Glad I tried it but not worth the price of admission for the non-adventurous.
It's made from barley and not grapes so really it's more beer than wine.  It's very lightly carbonated and has few traces of hops besides early bittering hops (guessing noble hops).  However this beer weighs in at 11.5% so you better sip it like a wine...or else you're gonna lose the night.
Tip: Be a gentleman (gentlewoman?) and serve it in a chilled wine glass.  You'll get about two 8oz pours.
At a Glance
Taste tobacco, earth, oak
Smell leather, caramel, sweet orange
Food aperitif or digestif
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 70359
Score

Barefoot Moscato

Date August 8, 2012 | Chuck | Moscato & USA & White Wine

Thankfully this wine is only 8.5% because after my first sip on this hot summer day I accidentally downed the 10oz glass. Of course I poured myself another so I could help our readers with their weekend wine shopping. In a nutshell: buy a few bottles, open them when it's hot out and enjoy a sweet wine for a change!
2010 gold medal at the ultimate wine challenge - usa
Tip: think of this as a baby ice wine, but a fraction of the price and 2x the volume
At a Glance
Taste honeydew, tangerine, citrus
Smell lemon, pineapple, floral
Food flan, dessert, fruit
Sweetness extra sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 234351
Score

Astica Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2011

Date May 8, 2012 | Chuck | Argentina & White Blend & White Wine

Light straw, greenish color. Clean on the nose with a touch of mixed citrus fruit. Crispy, fruity and refreshing in the mouth. The acidity of the Sauvignon is balanced by the fullness and length of the Semillón.
A great value wine that was well received
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste lemon, mineral, floral
Smell citrus, floral, tropical fruit
Food apertif, fish
Sweetness off dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 359083
Score

Pillitteri Gewurztraminer Riesling Fusion 2010

Date March 25, 2012 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

An excellent buy that is full of flavour and aroma. Goes well with the listed foods or simply as an aperitif
Blend: 51% Gewurztraminer 49% Riesling
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste peach, cantelope, floral
Smell peach, cantelope, pineapple
Food seafood, chinese
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349126
Score

Torre Varano Taburno Falanghina 2009

Date February 11, 2012 | Chuck | Falanghina & Italy & White Wine

Native to the Campania region of Southern Italy, the Falanghina grape makes full-bodied and well-structured wines.
Release Date: Aug 6, 2011
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste apple, melon, floral
Smell pear, apple, mineral
Food calamari
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 106351
Score

The Beach House Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2010

Date November 5, 2011 | Chuck | South Africa & White Blend & White Wine

Most people aren't fans of either Sauvignon Blanc or Semillon, this wine won't change their minds.
Made from 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon in South Africa (Cape Coastal Region)
Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste gooseberry, lemongrass, bitter citrus
Smell green apple, gooseberry, lemongrass
Food sushi, crab, shrimp
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 122390
Score

Huff Estates Rosé 2007

Date September 10, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Rosé & White Wine

It's true, not all pink wines are sweet and syrup like.  Here's a dry to off dry rose that has a serious side to it.
Seems to only be available via the winery
Tip: Serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste cranberry, grapefruit, grass
Smell grapefruit, herbaceous, lychee
Food appetizers, salmon
Sweetness off dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Open Riesling-Gewürztraminer 2010

Date August 3, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

This VQA fuses two great varietals and the outcome is a success in my books since characteristics from both grapes are allowed to shine through. The palette is crisp all around with a slightly sweet yet tart citrus finish.
This bottle was well received by 3 of 3 white wine drinkers at the table.
Tip: Serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste pear, tropical fruit, floral
Smell pear, citrus, lychee
Food thai, salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $11.95
LCBO# 134965
Score

Pelee Island Gewürztraminer 2009

Date January 31, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & White Wine

If you're looking for a sweeter white wine with loads of honey and pear notes, look no further. Serve this nice and cold but take it easy, as the easy drinking nature hides it's 12.5% alcohol content very well!
This is the non-VQA version, do I mind? nope. Watch for the hint of spice on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sweet fruit, honey, pear
Smell pear, honeydew, honey
Food apertif, chinese, stir fry
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $10.95
LCBO# 135970
Score

Fetzer Pinot Grigio 2009

Date December 22, 2010 | Chuck | Pinot Grigio & USA & White Wine

Unfortunately nothing great to report on this 2009 white, I had some high hopes based on the 2007 vintage but 2009's did not show as well.
Slightly bitter on the finish
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, melon, bitter apple
Smell melon, lime, floral
Food tapas
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 34041
Score

Fetzer Sauvignon Blanc 2009

Date December 16, 2010 | Chuck | Sauvignon Blanc & USA & White Wine

Being very dry and heavy on the alcohol, this white may not appeal to everyone. A friend told me their Pinot Grigio is very nice, review to come.
90% Sauvignon Blanc, 10% Viognier
Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste grassy, grapefruit, gooseberry
Smell melon, grass, floral
Food herbed tilapia fillet
Sweetness extra dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 34033
Score

Henry of Pelham - Sibling Rivalry White 2009

Date November 19, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

This bottle would be a perfect one to open amongst white lovers with different palates. The blend of Riesling, Chardonnay and Gewürztraminer is well balanced and anything but bland.
Special thanks to Daniel Speck for the tasting and history of the brand.
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, citrus, apple
Smell citrus, peach, floral
Food mango chicken salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 126144
Score

Naked Grape White Zinfandel Pinot Noir

Date July 8, 2010 | Chuck | USA & White Wine & White Zinfandel

Friend of the site Vesna has deemed this white zin to be the best of the best. Take her word over mine on this varietal. Although the tasting notes are by yours truly, because c'mon...they don't give websites to just anybody ;)
Overall this is a great summer sipper to be placed in the ice bucket among the beers, but only if there are ladies around so you can explain to passers by that it belongs to them.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste white grape, strawberry, kiwi
Smell strawberry, white grape, syrup
Food apertif, salads
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Cotnari Tămâioasă Românească 2007

Date June 13, 2010 | Chuck | Romania & Tamaioasa & White Wine

We don't review many sweet wines here but I'm glad this bottle came along. Not only is it a delicious dessert wine, it also hit two milestones for the site: The first Romanian wine and the first bottle from the Tămâioasă Românească varietal.

I'd like to send a big thank you to Angelica for the bottle, it was enjoyed at Sunday lunch with the family.

Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste honey, white rasins, ginger
Smell honey, citrus, floral
Food dessert wine, pork
Sweetness extra sweet
Price $14.95
LCBO# 143123
Score

Voga Pinot Grigio

Date March 21, 2010 | Sean | Italy & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

We eat with our eyes, and shop with them too.  A lot of fuss has been made online about the shape of this bottle.  Well the bottle is cute, and reminds me of VOSS Water from Norway, which if you like trends than this is right up your alley.  However, I'm more interested in what is in the bottle, as you should be too.  I had major issues with this wine, so much so that I had to pickup a second bottle and recruit two regular wine drinkers (thanks Dana & Lauren) to provide a second opinion.
Seeing as the bottle is very non-traditional, I was surprised to find a stopper in it.  This was just the beginning of what was becoming an awkward experience.  The next item at issue was the smell.  Pinot Grigio is known for a subtle, slightly floral or citrus leaf scent.  The key to that last sentence was the word 'subtle'.  I was greeted by an aggressive burnt wood scent, which seemed to be competing with Lemon Pledge.  My volunteer tasters both noted the strange aroma, and were somewhat baffled by it.  Finally we tasted.  The first sip was, shall we say...unpleasant.  But, this is where things begun to change.  The second and third sips improved to the point where the wine became enjoyable.  To describe the first sip, we settled on comparing it to the aftertaste of eating a sour candy, which to some isn't always a bad thing.

We are careful when we encounter a wine that doesn't live up to our expectations, especially those receiving a lot of media attention, but this just isn't a winner in our books.  Especially for the price.

Your thoughts and comments on this wine are much appreciated!

Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste green apple, lemon, citric acid
Smell burnt wood, chemical
Food seafood
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.50
LCBO# 669226
Score
Voga Pinot Grigio

Citra Pinot Grigio 2008

Date September 7, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

It's good to keep a bottle of this value grigio from Abruzzo Italy in the fridge if you ever want a cold glass of white on a weekday evening.
On the plus side (or minus for some) this vintage weighs in at 13%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste lemon, lime, golden apple
Smell lemon, mineral, golden apple
Food appetizers, brie
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 17483
Score

Rosehall Run Chardonnay Cuvée County 2007

Date August 16, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Chardonnay & White Wine

This crisp, fruit forward chardonnay from Prince Edward County is a good choice for a Sunday lunch
Varietal Composition: 59% Chardonnay; 41% Chardonnay Musqué
Release Date: March 1, 2009
At a Glance
Taste golden apple, floral, light oak
Smell white grapefruit, golden apple, pear
Food fish, salad, goat cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 132928
Score

Strewn Riesling Gewürztraminer 2007

Date April 9, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

This fusion of whites provides a deep bouquet and crisp palette. It's an ok buy, but I would recommend the Pillitteri over it and even Strewn's regular riesling.
Best as an aperitif
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste pineapple, apple, cinnamon
Smell tropical fruit, pineapple, pear
Food aperitif
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 467662
Score

D'arenberg The Stump Jump White 2007

Date March 16, 2009 | Sean | Australia & White Blend & White Wine

The thermometer broke the 0 mark this weekend, which means its time to get ready for summer by chilling some white wine. Wanting to ease in to the white wine season I picked a blend hoping for something easy going and well rounded.  This wine certainly achieved this.  Like it's name, it did jump out of the glass, but in a good way.
Comprised of 62% Riesling, 18% Sauvignon Blanc, 8% Marsanne, 6% Viognier and 6% Chardonnay
Tip: Chill Well
At a Glance
Taste mixed citrus, lemon, light oak
Smell gooseberry, pear
Food cashews, tart fruit
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 922203
Score
Bottle Image

Strewn Semi-Dry Riesling 2006

Date January 11, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This pale straw coloured riesling, served well chilled looked, smelled and tasted great in my new Riedel glassware. The past few cold winters didn't affect the riesling vines as much as others, which may be why it's the hottest white on the market right now.
Overall this is a great buy: crisp, acidic and flavourful. Proof why you should keep buying your whites from Ontario.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, lemon, pineapple
Smell pineapple, tropical fruit, floral
Food pork, chinese
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 616599
Score

Gray Fox Chardonnay 2007

Date November 16, 2008 | Chuck | Chardonnay & USA & White Wine

This vintage has layers of great flavours and aromas, it's priced well and is readily available.
People who are weary of the heavily oaked, buttery and spiced chardonnays don't have to tread lightly here, this bottle is nothing of the kind. Drink up.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste apple, citrus, mineral
Smell golden apple, lime, grapefruit
Food roast chicken, pork chops
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 614271
Score

Pillitteri Gewurztraminer Riesling Fusion 2006

Date October 22, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

An excellent buy that is full of flavour and aroma. In addition to the At a Glance section: the nose also has some spice and flint to it, while the palate is tropical, floral and citrus. How all this character got into this one bottle, I'm not sure but I hope Pillitteri keeps doing what they're doing.
Blend: 51% Gewürztraminer, 49% Riesling
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, pineapple, peach
Smell grapefruit, lychee, floral
Food ham, chinese takeout, chicken salad
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349126
Score

Trumpour's Mill Pinot Gris 2006

Date September 20, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

Newly available at the LCBO, The Grange of Price Edward has issued this very Canadian / New World pinot gris. This is a little more than I would usually be caught paying for a grigio but I wanted to be part of this wine's grand entrance.
With a fairly rich and full mouthfeel, this white will go very well with a spicy Asian dish or takeout.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste tart apple, straw, citrus
Smell golden apple, apricot, peach
Food spicy asian
Sweetness off dry
Price $17.00
LCBO# 69336
Score


[1] [2] > » 
38 Articles per page