Reviews in Category: White Wine (Clear Filter)

Trumpour's Mill Pinot Gris 2006

Date September 20, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

Newly available at the LCBO, The Grange of Price Edward has issued this very Canadian / New World pinot gris. This is a little more than I would usually be caught paying for a grigio but I wanted to be part of this wine's grand entrance.
With a fairly rich and full mouthfeel, this white will go very well with a spicy Asian dish or takeout.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste tart apple, straw, citrus
Smell golden apple, apricot, peach
Food spicy asian
Sweetness off dry
Price $17.00
LCBO# 69336
Score

Spinelli Chardonnay Terre di Chieti

Date August 23, 2008 | Chuck | Chardonnay & Italy & White Wine

So far, Spinelli wines have offered good value for their almost unbeatable prices (by LCBO standards anyways). Here we have an unoaked chardonnay that is crisp and acidic. If you like chardonnay but find it too heavy, give this Italian a try as it doesn't show any hints of oak, butter or vanilla - tell-tale signs that your wine is drowning in wood.
Sean mentioned that this vintage reminded him of the hard cider named Strongbow. I guess my taste and aroma notes are right on.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste apple, lime, citrus
Smell pear, golden apple
Food antipasto
Sweetness dry
Price $6.95
LCBO# 474239
Score

Kittling Ridge White Zinfanel Vidal

Date August 18, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & White Wine & White Zinfandel

Although I don't keep white zin on hand, this white does make a pretty good summer sipper.  Yes, I was surprised...the varietal I usually call 'sugar wine' was sweet but not tooth-decay sweet or  syrupy.
I would choose this bottle over the Woodbridge by Robert Mondavi.  It's much more flavourful and expressive.
Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, kiwi, melon
Smell strawberry, watermelon, bananna
Food apertif, fresh fruit
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $9.25
LCBO# 534693
Score

Pasqua Soave 2007

Date August 9, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Soave & White Wine

Here's a lesson to everyone, when shopping for a wine, just because it has a classification written on the label, doesn't mean it's a 'good' wine.  Click here to learn what makes a wine good.  So VQA, DOC, VDQS, AOC, etc.. just means the wine passed regulations.  Regulations that have no account for taste.
If you're served this wine, use it to make a spritzer
Tip: serve ice cold, and possibly in some sprite.
At a Glance
Taste lemon, citrus
Smell lemon, pineapple, honeydew
Food mix green salad
Sweetness dry
Price $9.90
LCBO# 171074
Score

KWV Chenin Blanc

Date July 22, 2008 | Sean | Chenin Blanc & South Africa & White Wine

This wine gets it high score for two main reasons.  1. Value 2. It's not Chardonnay!  Whoa, hold your angry emails until you read the rest. As we've stated many times sometimes you want a white wine that doesn't carry the typical big bad Chardonnay character, overwhelming your meal at every sip.
This dark horse out of Sourth Africa is a very pleasant, easy drinking white on a hot summer day.  Excellent fruit and floral balance.  Clean and crisp on the palate and amiable to most foods.  So far this summer it has become the white house wine, and at under $10 a bottle, how can you go wrong?
Tip: Keep and eye out for value priced South African white wines - you'll be pleasantly surprised (most of the time)
At a Glance
Taste green apple, pear, melon
Smell grass, straw, candied pineapple
Food light summer salad
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 18689
Score
Chenin Blanc

Fazi Battaglia Verdicchio 2007

Date July 12, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Verdicchio & White Wine

Excellent as a chilled aperitif, Verdicchio is a grape not well know to many. It's name is a derivative of the word "verde" (which means green in Italian) due to its slight green/yellow hue.
Warning: This bottle is so Italian you may be inclined to make your own tomato sauce.
Tip: moderate-high acidity
At a Glance
Taste mineral, light citrus, bitter almond
Smell pineapple, floral, mineral, spice, cassis
Food seafood salad or aperitif
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 24422
Score

Kumala Chenin Blanc Chardonnay 2007

Date June 28, 2008 | Sean | South Africa & White Blend & White Wine

Being deep in the summer heat means looking for something smooth and refreshing. Exploring whites under the $10 mark is always interesting. While I don't usually gravitate to a chardonnay this blend offers something with a little more depth than the usual Chenin Blanc.
South Africa is really starting to show it's potential in the table wine category as well as premium offerings. If your having a robust summer snack, grab a bottle with a little bit of body like this one.
Tip: chill really well
At a Glance
Taste honeydew, grass, citrus
Smell green apple, hint of citrus, straw
Food roasted garlic hummus
Sweetness dry
Price $8.70
LCBO# 572867
Score
Kumala logo

Fetzer Valley Oaks Pinot Grigio 2007

Date June 19, 2008 | Chuck | Pinot Grigio & USA & White Wine

If you're a die hard fan of the extra crisp and acidic Italian pinot grigios out there, be prepared when you try out this fruit-forward Californian.
This vintage was definitely fun to drink with much of our time spent noses in glass.
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste pear, grapefruit, apple
Smell pear, apple, orange spice
Food ham, butternut squash
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.05
LCBO# 34041
Score

Woodbridge by Robert Mondavi White Zinfandel 2005

Date June 17, 2008 | Chuck | USA & White Wine & White Zinfandel

White Zin always gets the cold shoulder from critics even though it's one of the top selling varietals in North America. Why? because it's a rose, it's light and it's sweet. Those three reasons are also my guess as to why it appeals to so many wine buyers out there, they make it easy and fun to drink.
Although the composition is 84% Zinfandel, an interesting spectrum of grapes are used for flavouring and balance: 8% Muscat, 4% Barbera, 3% Syrah and 1% Grenache
Note: given an extra half star because it's not as syrupy as some other white zins
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, light berry
Smell strawberry, floral, cranberry
Food ham
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 249656
Score

Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis 2006

Date June 1, 2008 | Chuck | Chablis & France & White Wine

The fruit for this 2006 vintage was sourced from a single vineyard, which is key for picking up terroir characteristics.
We sampled this wine at the Toronto Wine & Cheese Show and found it very refreshing due to it's crisp acidity and the fact that it's never seen oak.
Tip: Released on April 12, 2008
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, lemon, light floral
Smell mineral, floral, citrus
Food aperitif, white fish with lemon
Sweetness extra dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 72363
Score

Hillebrand Trius Riesling Dry 2006

Date May 23, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This gently pressed, cool fermented (14°C) juice was aged in stainless steel tanks to produce a very crisp, citrus and minerally riesling.
This vintage finishes crisp, tart and steely. At the time of writing, the 2007 vintage is available. It will be interesting to see how a warmer growing season will affect the end result.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste green apple, citrus (lime), mineral
Smell mineral, lemon, floral
Food light fish dishes
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 303792
Score

Forrest Estate Riesling 2007

Date May 16, 2008 | Sean | New Zealand & Riesling & White Wine

I got my hands on this after a press only tasting weeks ahead of it's scheduled release. I was warned that it was an impressive bottle.
While this bottle just barely makes the under $20 cutoff for nosnob.com it is VERY worth it. This was one of the most impressive bottles of white wine I have had in a long time. This wine reminded me of a more mature and dry version of Conundrum (a white blend from California as the name suggests you can't guess whats in it). The pineapple and tropical fruits explode on the tongue followed by a honey and floral finish that is clean and amazingly crisp. Let's just say this bottle didn't last very long. Now I have to break the bank and pick up a few of these guys. Hey, I was warned. Now you have been too.
Tip: Coming soon to a store near you.
At a Glance
Taste pineapple, honey, white flowers
Smell flowers, honey, ginger
Food tapas
Sweetness off dry
Price $18.95
LCBO# 60103
Score
Forrest Estate Riesling

Stonechurch Riesling VQA 2006

Date May 2, 2008 | Sean | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

Having been at one time a major Ontario wine collector I hate to admit that Ontario Rieslings have been struggling the last few years. During the Toronto Wine & Cheese Show we got to sample this pleasant and refreshing Riesling which was a bit of a surprise.
The first thing I asked the wine maker representative before tasting the wine was "What with the bottle?". She didn't look put off for one moment, she even seemed to anticipate the question. The bottle has a squared off shoulder instead of the usual sleek shape. My immediately fear was someone was pushing crappy wine in a fancy bottle hoping your eyes are doing the buying and not your other senses. That IS NOT the case at all! Thank you for reminding me that Ontario DOES make good Riesling!
Tip: Don't let the sugar code fool you, it is well balanced.
At a Glance
Taste orange blossom, citrus, melon
Smell green apple, honey, peach
Food couscous salad
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.85
LCBO# 65714
Score
Stonechurch Vineyards

Domaine des Aspes Viognier 2006

Date April 29, 2008 | Sean | France & Viognier & White Wine

It was Domaine des Aspes that first got me hooked on Viognier about 2.5 years ago. Viognier (like Riesling) can be produced in a range of styles from reserved and floral to bold and tropical. This particular version from France is well rounded, balanced sweetness against acid with clear citrus and peach.
I can't encourage you enough to try the variety of grape. I turned to it when I just couldn't drink another Chardonnay or Riesling. With its re-emergence in modern wine making this will be the come back kid for the next few years.
Tip: Enjoy on it's own any day of the year.
At a Glance
Taste honeydew, white peach, green apple
Smell firm melon, pear, white flowers
Food Frittata
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 712638
Score
Viognier Label

Morgenhof Estate Sauvignon Blanc 2007

Date April 27, 2008 | Sean | Sauvignon Blanc & South Africa & White Wine

nosnob.com blind tasted this wine and admittedly, it gave us a little trouble. We poked around Chardonnay, Viognier but couldn't nail it at first. Once the wine had warmed up a few degrees it was instantly clear that it was Sauvignon Blanc. Just another reminder to take your whites out of the fridge a few minutes before drinking to get the full effect.
This was a really well balanced Sauvignon from South Africa. Would have liked to tasted a little bit more of an edge like some others, but overall, great smells and flavors.
Tip: pull it out of the fridge 15 minutes before serving
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, orange, grass
Smell grass, gooseberry, citrus
Food tapas
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 18507
Score
Mogenhof Bottle

Vina Carmen Chardonnay 2006

Date April 20, 2008 | Sean | Chardonnay & Chile & White Wine

While many Chardonnays can be really overpowered by oak in the form of vanilla and butter this wine is well balanced and crisp. The finish has a great mild acidity that leaves behind a slight citrus note.
This certainly isn't a fruit salad, but you will notice the apples and pears. A very easy drinking Chardonnay, and for the price a good deal. Very refreshing.
Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste green apple, pear, tropical fruit
Smell pear, honeysuckle
Food baked chicken with mushroom sauce
Sweetness
Price $9.90
LCBO#
Score
Carmen Chardonnay

Hillebrand Trius Unoaked Chardonnay 2006

Date April 10, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Chardonnay & White Wine

Having been aged in stainless steel tanks rather than oak barrels gives this chard a crisp, clean, citrus edge that you won't find in the oaked version
So what's the hype about 'un-oaked' chardonnay? Well the difference is only in where the wine aged, but the result is leaps and bounds, especially in North America. Chardonnay (especially in North America) has a bad reputation for being over oaked, producing a strong vanilla flavour and a heavy mouth-feel. This style is obviously to many people's likings but to others it's just overkill. Choosing stainless steel vats over oak barrels for chardonnay could trick you into thinking your enjoying a crisp Riesling if your not careful :)
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste citrus, apricot
Smell apple, melon
Food tilapia
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.95
LCBO#
Score

Hernder Estates Fumé Blanc 2006

Date April 9, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Sauvignon Blanc & White Wine

Little did I know that fumé Blanc is an accepted synonym for Sauvignon Blanc. This vintage could have fooled me because it tastes and smells nothing like a typical blanc, which may be good or bad depending on where your tastes lie.
For those who don't (or can't) drink red and need a toasty, smoky white to pair with a big dish, you could give this a try.
Tip: try this if you are a big fan of oaky whites
At a Glance
Taste melon, chalk
Smell smoky, lemon
Food grilled shrimp
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.95
LCBO#
Score

Yellow Tail Chardonnay 2006

Date March 28, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Chardonnay & White Wine

This is my second yellow tail review and I've noticed something similar, these wines don't follow the typical varietal characteristics at all. Both the merlot and this chardonnay tasted too sweet and over manipulated.
It's not a big surprise to me, they say it on the label 'the nose leaps from the glass and displays a peachy, vanilla and coconut aroma'. The first two are fine, I can deal with them. But the coconut triggers something in me that says "don't drink suntan lotion"
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste coconut, apple, vanilla
Smell coconut, butterscotch
Food seafood
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.20
LCBO# 627802
Score

Domaine des Salices Viognier 2006

Date March 23, 2008 | Sean | France & Viognier & White Wine

Sometimes you just don't want another Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc. You crave for something familiar but different enough that you'll reawaken your taste buds and remember that there is something other than red wine. With Spring at our door step its important to bring back the white. Soon it will be hot and steamy and nothing hits the spot on a sunny afternoon better than a well chilled white.
Viognier is making a slow comeback. People are discovering a bold and complex white that is crisp and clean. Viognier can range from tropical fruit to very floral and dry. This particular bottle is full of floral and citrus notes and very dry, but very approachable.
Tip: March 15 Vintages Release
At a Glance
Taste citrus, white flowers, clove
Smell orange blossom, citrus, green apple
Food salmon with light cream sauce
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 487272
Score
Salices Viognier

Mount Riley Chardonnay 2005

Date March 15, 2008 | Chuck | Chardonnay & New Zealand & White Wine

My second chardonnay review from Marlborough, New Zealand ( first was Oyster Bay ) and already I've found a common bond, a high price tag.
This wine was quite nice and had nothing at all wrong with it, but it certainly lost points in the value area. Chardonnay is not a tough wine to make and there is plenty of it, and the majority under $18.90. You have to dress to impress to charge that much in this category.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste pineapple, passion fruit
Smell melon, vanilla, butterscotch
Food chicken with mushroom sauce
Sweetness off dry
Price $18.90
LCBO# 32318
Score

Chateau des Charmes Aligoté 2006

Date March 3, 2008 | Chuck | Aligoté & Canada & White Wine

This estate bottled aligoté is a French inspired, dry white wine with a medium body. It has a crisp fresh apple and floral taste with a similar bouquet. Very nice when served as an apertif due to it's acidity and crispiness.
Tip: serve fridge chilled, also good on it's own
At a Glance
Taste green apple, floral, citrus
Smell citrus, green apple
Food fish with lemon
Sweetness dry
Price $13.45
LCBO# 284950
Score

Chateau De Quincay Sauvignon Selection Tradition 2006

Date March 2, 2008 | Sean | France & Sauvignon Blanc & White Wine

Ignore the big fancy French name. What we got here folks is Sauvingnon Blanc. What is special about this wine is it comes from a part of France that is known for making outstanding wines (Loire region). It's the next door neighbor of where the really expensive stuff comes from. This wine is zesty and has lots of character for what we sometimes think of as a boring white grape. Very crisp, very clean. Total bargain.
Tip: March 1, 2008 Vintages Release - hurry! Chill well.
At a Glance
Taste green apple, citrus, honeydew
Smell white flowers, fresh herbs, cedar
Food grilled salmon, goat cheese
Sweetness
Price $12.95
LCBO# 66183
Score
Quincay Sauvignon

Oyster Bay Chardonnay 2005

Date March 1, 2008 | Chuck | Chardonnay & New Zealand & White Wine

Oyster Bay is a popular choice for the average buyer who feels like splurging a bit [yes, it's a bit pricey], and this chardonnay from New Zealand's Marlborough region is a nice change from the typical chard. If you're used to drinking the chardonnays from North America you may find the majority are quite heavy on the oak, rich and buttery. Love it or hate it, it's the number one selling white varietal in the world. Back to this wine, you find it much lighter because it's only partially barrel fermented and not at all buttery but rather more fruity with a crispiness to it that is very enjoyable.
Another cool method the winemaker chose to preserve the fruitiness of this vintage was the decision to skip out on the cork and use a screw top. They're not taking any chances down under :) If you like this wine, try their Sauvignon Blanc, it's on my to-do list.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste floral, melon, apple
Smell light floral, apple, pear
Food pork chops
Sweetness dry
Price $18.80
LCBO# 326728
Score

Hillebrand Trius White 2006

Date February 27, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

My table full of guests found this well rounded white to be amazing. Even more amazing is that the 2006 is the first release of this wine and received critical acclaim. Trius White is a careful blend of Pinot Gris, Gewurztraminer, Riesling and unoaked Chardonnay, which offers bold fruit flavours that settle into a dry, clean, refreshing finish.
Trius proves to be a very dependable product line from Hillebrand. More reviews to follow. Many more... :)
Tip: lightly chilled in a tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste fruity, apricot, floral blossoms
Smell grapefruit, orange peel, floral
Food seafood, pasta with cream sauce
Sweetness off dry
Price $18.80
LCBO# 54957
Score

Sawmill Creek Sauvignon Blanc

Date February 27, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Sauvignon Blanc & White Wine

Here's a nice medium-bodied white wine with a sticker price you can't beat. It exhibits a dry crisp citrus flavour with hints of green apple and oak. I did notice that this wine is non-vintage, meaning that the juice is a blend of wine from more than one year. Should I care? well, for this class of white wine, nah.
This wine was also my first go at a Tetra-Pak® and I have to say, if I'm traveling with wine it can't be beat, however I would never bring it to the table. And for me, yes, it does lose the romance factor of uncorking a bottle.
Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste citrus, green apple, light oak
Smell citrus, light oak
Food shrimp
Sweetness dry
Price $9.95
LCBO#
Score

Mezzacorona Pinot Grigio Trentino Riserva 2005

Date February 24, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

Thankfully, this golden straw, off dry grigio put me back into the pinot spirit after my last attempt at it.
Here is a wine that tastes just like it smells and it's good in both areas. A white that proved to be a crowd pleaser and gives you the chance to explain to people that the nice but unfamiliar taste is Mineral! Have a semi-snobby moment on us ;)
Tip: a good choice over the Santa Margherita & use a balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste minerals, lemon, subtle oak
Smell minerals, lemon, subtle oak
Food pasta with cream sauce, pork ribs
Price $15.85
LCBO# 32714
Score

Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio 2006

Date February 24, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

Labeled as an LCBO essential, this dry, pale straw colored pinot grigio (otherwise referred to as pinot gris) threw me a curve ball. I absolutely second guessed myself when writing notes about this wine due to all the attention it's been receiving. I could not distinguish very many flavors and aromas from this wine and thought it to be a little bit indistinguishable. This was confirmed by our resident editor Sean who shared with me that this grigio had been excellent in past years but the 2006 was not a red letter year for them.
A couple years ago, people would have been happy to pay this price for a Santa Margherita, but I found this less than stellar harvest to be a bit too pricey. Surely coming as no surprise to the winery and dealers, I ask, shouldn't the price follow the quality from year to year?
Tip: tulip glass worked best for this vintage
At a Glance
Taste golden apple, peach, lemon
Smell apple, peach
Food seafood or just as an aperitif
Sweetness dry
Price $16.85
LCBO# 106450
Score

Codorniu Brut Cava Pinot Noir Rose Sparkling Wine

Date February 23, 2008 | Sean | Spain & Sparkling & White Wine

Yup, pink sparkling wine. Rose's get a bad wrap often as they became known as bad wine, not always true. No we weren't hanging out on the set of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous, just dinner at home on a Saturday. This is a nice example of what happens when you let some of the grapes true colors shine through. This sparkling wine, like most, is made from Pinot Noir (a red variety). It has lots of Pinot Noir qualities like strawberry and cherry flavors. This is a really refreshing sparkling wine, enjoy it any day with lunch or dinner. Sparkling wine isn't just for special occasions.
Tip: Go from fridge to freezer 10 minutes before serving
At a Glance
Taste cherry, strawberry, cotton candy
Smell stone fruit, flowers, plum
Food appetizers, feta or goat cheese
Sweetness
Price $16.85
LCBO# 665372]
Score
corrose.jpg

Inniskillin Late Harvest Riesling 2006

Date February 23, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

Is this late harvest Riesling Fashionably Late? Lets see, late harvest usually means it’s going to be a bit sweeter so it gets a check mark there. It has a classic honey finish that we like (check mark there) and it has a nice bright straw colour with hints of floral and fruity notes on the finish. So yes, wine too, can be Fashionably Late.
Tip: chill a bottle of this for white drinkers who prefer a sweeter wine
At a Glance
Taste apple, pear, honey
Smell apple, ripe juicy citrus
Food midly spiced courses, fruit flan
Sweetness sweet
Price $12.25
LCBO# 219543
Score

Naked Grape Chardonnay

Date February 21, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Chardonnay & White Wine

Why on earth would you call your wine Naked Grape? well, it's not just marketing hype, it's also because this winery chooses to go against the grain [haha, insert golf clap here] and not use oak barrels to age their wine. This gives a wine a lighter, crisper and a more fruit-forward stance without the possibility of drowning it in oak or vanilla flavours.
In general we can say this is a fun outdoor summer sipping wine with it's tart tropical fruit finish.
Tip: Enjoy this wine straight from the fridge as it will lose it's crispiness as it warms up.
At a Glance
Taste pear, green apple, citrus
Smell pineapple, citrus
Food shellfish
Sweetness off dry
Price $10.25
LCBO# 665232
Score
naked_grape_chard.jpg


« < [1] [2] 
38 Articles per page