Articles tagged with: floral (Clear Filter)

Barefoot Moscato

Date August 8, 2012 | Chuck | Moscato & USA & White Wine

Thankfully this wine is only 8.5% because after my first sip on this hot summer day I accidentally downed the 10oz glass. Of course I poured myself another so I could help our readers with their weekend wine shopping. In a nutshell: buy a few bottles, open them when it's hot out and enjoy a sweet wine for a change!
2010 gold medal at the ultimate wine challenge - usa
Tip: think of this as a baby ice wine, but a fraction of the price and 2x the volume
At a Glance
Taste honeydew, tangerine, citrus
Smell lemon, pineapple, floral
Food flan, dessert, fruit
Sweetness extra sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 234351
Score

Astica Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2011

Date May 8, 2012 | Chuck | Argentina & White Blend & White Wine

Light straw, greenish color. Clean on the nose with a touch of mixed citrus fruit. Crispy, fruity and refreshing in the mouth. The acidity of the Sauvignon is balanced by the fullness and length of the Semillón.
A great value wine that was well received
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste lemon, mineral, floral
Smell citrus, floral, tropical fruit
Food apertif, fish
Sweetness off dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 359083
Score

Fetzer Pinot Grigio 2009

Date December 22, 2010 | Chuck | Pinot Grigio & USA & White Wine

Unfortunately nothing great to report on this 2009 white, I had some high hopes based on the 2007 vintage but 2009's did not show as well.
Slightly bitter on the finish
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, melon, bitter apple
Smell melon, lime, floral
Food tapas
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 34041
Score

Fetzer Sauvignon Blanc 2009

Date December 16, 2010 | Chuck | Sauvignon Blanc & USA & White Wine

Being very dry and heavy on the alcohol, this white may not appeal to everyone. A friend told me their Pinot Grigio is very nice, review to come.
90% Sauvignon Blanc, 10% Viognier
Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste grassy, grapefruit, gooseberry
Smell melon, grass, floral
Food herbed tilapia fillet
Sweetness extra dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 34033
Score

Henry of Pelham - Sibling Rivalry White 2009

Date November 19, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

This bottle would be a perfect one to open amongst white lovers with different palates. The blend of Riesling, Chardonnay and Gewürztraminer is well balanced and anything but bland.
Special thanks to Daniel Speck for the tasting and history of the brand.
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, citrus, apple
Smell citrus, peach, floral
Food mango chicken salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 126144
Score

Cotnari Tămâioasă Românească 2007

Date June 13, 2010 | Chuck | Romania & Tamaioasa & White Wine

We don't review many sweet wines here but I'm glad this bottle came along. Not only is it a delicious dessert wine, it also hit two milestones for the site: The first Romanian wine and the first bottle from the Tămâioasă Românească varietal.

I'd like to send a big thank you to Angelica for the bottle, it was enjoyed at Sunday lunch with the family.

Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste honey, white rasins, ginger
Smell honey, citrus, floral
Food dessert wine, pork
Sweetness extra sweet
Price $14.95
LCBO# 143123
Score

Strewn Semi-Dry Riesling 2006

Date January 11, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This pale straw coloured riesling, served well chilled looked, smelled and tasted great in my new Riedel glassware. The past few cold winters didn't affect the riesling vines as much as others, which may be why it's the hottest white on the market right now.
Overall this is a great buy: crisp, acidic and flavourful. Proof why you should keep buying your whites from Ontario.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, lemon, pineapple
Smell pineapple, tropical fruit, floral
Food pork, chinese
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 616599
Score

Pillitteri Gewurztraminer Riesling Fusion 2006

Date October 22, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

An excellent buy that is full of flavour and aroma. In addition to the At a Glance section: the nose also has some spice and flint to it, while the palate is tropical, floral and citrus. How all this character got into this one bottle, I'm not sure but I hope Pillitteri keeps doing what they're doing.
Blend: 51% Gewürztraminer, 49% Riesling
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, pineapple, peach
Smell grapefruit, lychee, floral
Food ham, chinese takeout, chicken salad
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349126
Score

Fazi Battaglia Verdicchio 2007

Date July 12, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Verdicchio & White Wine

Excellent as a chilled aperitif, Verdicchio is a grape not well know to many. It's name is a derivative of the word "verde" (which means green in Italian) due to its slight green/yellow hue.
Warning: This bottle is so Italian you may be inclined to make your own tomato sauce.
Tip: moderate-high acidity
At a Glance
Taste mineral, light citrus, bitter almond
Smell pineapple, floral, mineral, spice, cassis
Food seafood salad or aperitif
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 24422
Score

Woodbridge by Robert Mondavi White Zinfandel 2005

Date June 17, 2008 | Chuck | USA & White Wine & White Zinfandel

White Zin always gets the cold shoulder from critics even though it's one of the top selling varietals in North America. Why? because it's a rose, it's light and it's sweet. Those three reasons are also my guess as to why it appeals to so many wine buyers out there, they make it easy and fun to drink.
Although the composition is 84% Zinfandel, an interesting spectrum of grapes are used for flavouring and balance: 8% Muscat, 4% Barbera, 3% Syrah and 1% Grenache
Note: given an extra half star because it's not as syrupy as some other white zins
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, light berry
Smell strawberry, floral, cranberry
Food ham
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 249656
Score

Domaine Louis Moreau Chablis 2006

Date June 1, 2008 | Chuck | Chablis & France & White Wine

The fruit for this 2006 vintage was sourced from a single vineyard, which is key for picking up terroir characteristics.
We sampled this wine at the Toronto Wine & Cheese Show and found it very refreshing due to it's crisp acidity and the fact that it's never seen oak.
Tip: Released on April 12, 2008
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, lemon, light floral
Smell mineral, floral, citrus
Food aperitif, white fish with lemon
Sweetness extra dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 72363
Score

Hillebrand Trius Riesling Dry 2006

Date May 23, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This gently pressed, cool fermented (14°C) juice was aged in stainless steel tanks to produce a very crisp, citrus and minerally riesling.
This vintage finishes crisp, tart and steely. At the time of writing, the 2007 vintage is available. It will be interesting to see how a warmer growing season will affect the end result.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste green apple, citrus (lime), mineral
Smell mineral, lemon, floral
Food light fish dishes
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 303792
Score

Hillebrand Trius White 2006

Date February 27, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

My table full of guests found this well rounded white to be amazing. Even more amazing is that the 2006 is the first release of this wine and received critical acclaim. Trius White is a careful blend of Pinot Gris, Gewurztraminer, Riesling and unoaked Chardonnay, which offers bold fruit flavours that settle into a dry, clean, refreshing finish.
Trius proves to be a very dependable product line from Hillebrand. More reviews to follow. Many more... :)
Tip: lightly chilled in a tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste fruity, apricot, floral blossoms
Smell grapefruit, orange peel, floral
Food seafood, pasta with cream sauce
Sweetness off dry
Price $18.80
LCBO# 54957
Score

Ernest and Julio Gallo Cabernet Sauvignon 2006

Date February 25, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

E&J is a house-hold name in California wines, releases this medium body, slightly sweet cabernet sauvignon. I shouldn't be bias here, but I'm not a fan of sweet cabs, however I wasn't the only one at the table who wasn't a fan. I could however see myself gulping down this red in the summer heat when I'm thirsty.
I did however get a surprise I truly wasn't expecting with this mass produced wine, and that was sediment. At least it was strange to me, anyone else have this happen ?
Tip: balloon glass this wine and decant of yours has sediment too.
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, mixed berries
Smell berry, red liquorice, floral
Food medium cheeses
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $10.40
LCBO# 223552
Score


[1] 
38 Articles per page