Articles tagged with: vanilla (Clear Filter)

LeRoisier Reserve Merlot

Date September 3, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & France & Merlot & Red Wine

This non-vintage, multi-country merlot isn't anything to write home about, although guests did enjoy it.  It's not something I would purchase again but I would drink it over a mass-produced light lager.
Alcohol/Vol 13%
At a Glance
Taste cherry, vanilla, plum
Smell plum, vanilla, berry
Food american
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# n/a
Score   

 

Angels Gate Merlot VQA

Date June 2, 2015 | Chuck | Canada & Merlot & Red Wine

Fusels are a problem with this wine making it taste hot and thin.  Firm tannins but they aren't being backed up with flavour.  This wine was also hurt by the price point, too high for what you get.
VQA wine.  Alcohol/Vol 13%
At a Glance
Taste cherry, vanilla, alcohol heat
Smell blackcurrant, vanilla, spice
Food sandwiches
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 107722
Score

 

Yellow Tail Merlot 2014

Date March 27, 2015 | Chuck | Australia & Merlot & Red Wine

Well, trying this bottle was a long time coming.  Yellow Tail certainly has their fans, but I am not one of them.  You don't need to be a wine taster to notice there's a noticeable heat (alcohol) on the nose and palate.  Along with overwhelming notes of vanilla and oak to throw this wine completely off balance.
When you get into mass produced wine, you're likely blending juices from various sources.  Like too many cooks in the kitchen, it makes a mess.  Alcohol/Vol 13%
At a Glance
Taste young cherry, alcohol, vanilla
Smell vanilla, mulberry, oak
Food hotdogs
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 625350
Score

PKNT Carmenere 2010

Date February 14, 2014 | Chuck | Carmenere & Chile & Red Wine

Wow there is a stock photo of a chili pepper on the bottle, I better by this for someone I know who likes spicy foods!
Editor's note: that is a horrible idea
Could someone explain to me why the label says "contains eggs"?
At a Glance
Taste spicy, dark fruit, vanilla
Smell blueberry, vanilla, oak
Food tex-mex
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 191858
Score

Farnese Montepulciano D'Abruzzo 2012

Date November 8, 2013 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

A swing and a miss by the winery of my house wine. With no depth in the nose or on the palate, this wine is very mundane.
It's one of the cheapest reds in the LCBO, so there is that. 12.5%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste red berry,vanilla,plum
Smell pomegranate,vanilla,oak
Food italian, pizza
Sweetness off dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 621912
Score

Bear Flag Red Blend

Date September 3, 2012 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

As stated on the label it's a very smooth and fruit forward red blend with soft tannins.  A blend comprised of: Tempranillo, Touriga, Zinfandel, and Alicante.
Liked it more after decanting.  The artwork is interesting but personally I don't like having to hunt for information on the bottle.  Even once found it was hard to read against the background.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dried cherries, blackberry, vanilla
Smell dried cherries, blackberry, vanilla
Food bbq
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 226514
Score

Apothic Red 2010

Date August 18, 2012 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

The label says "Winemaker's Blend" and they weren't joking! This wine is made using Zinfandel, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.
Overall I believe the amount of blending in this bottle muted much of the contributor's individuality. In a blind tasting I would guess it's just a Syrah/Merlot blend.
Tip: tasted better the next day, so try decanting after opening
At a Glance
Taste vanilla, dark fruit, mocha
Smell plum, vanilla
Food cheddar cheese
Sweetness off dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 234369
Score

Sandbanks Selection Baco Noir 2010

Date June 8, 2012 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Deep, rich, flavourful and fruit forward. VQA from Prince Edward County.
LCBO number below reflects the 2009 vintage, review is for 2010
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, leather, vanilla
Smell blackberry, chocolate, vanilla
Food pizza, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 211318
Score

Mirassou Pinot Noir 2010

Date January 9, 2012 | Chuck | Pinot Noir & Red Wine & USA

A soft, fruit forward, easy drinking (very) California pinot noir
Pickup a few bottles, it makes a great house pinot
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, vanilla, raspberry
Smell cherry, plum, vanilla
Food salmon, risotto
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 185249
Score

Farnese Negroamaro 2009

Date February 4, 2011 | Chuck | Italy & Negroamaro & Red Wine

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Farnese is the best at what they do, and what they do is produce good, consistent, Italian IGT wines at more than affordable prices, vintage after vintage. Their Sangiovese has been my house wine for over 2 years, this Negroamaro will have some constant shelf space as well. If I could change anything, I would add a little more structure / edge - but then again, I'd get a Sangiovese clone.
To sum up: easy drinking, fruit forward, very little oak, high alcohol at 13.5% but you don't taste it whatsoever. Nice tannins felt along the gumline on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, blueberry, herbaceous
Smell black cherry, blueberry, vanilla
Food pizza, hard cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 143735
Score

Carlo Rossi California Red 2007

Date October 31, 2009 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

Everyone loves choices, with this wine you can choose to buy it in a: bottle, large format bottle, funny jug with a ring handle and even a box. America #$@% YEAH!
This wine conjures up memories of a previous review: Charles Shaw Merlot 2007
Tip: price listed is for the 1.5L bottle, don't buy what you can't drink within 2 days.
At a Glance
Taste cherry, plum, vanilla
Smell vanilla, cherry, plum
Food cold cuts
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.45
LCBO# 00070813
Score

Charles Shaw Merlot 2007

Date October 10, 2009 | Sean | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

Only in America? This merlot came to us for $1.99. Often called two-buck-chuck, this wine is mostly found at Trader Joe's in the United States. One thing is certain, we have never  encountered two-dollar wine in Canada...god bless America.
First thing is the colour, yeah thats right I spelled it with a "u". Get over it. Great dark purple, with light edges. We were  actually surprised as this wine is not offensive, easy drinking and generally "not bad". Does that make it a California Cab? Hell no.  But, if your having a group over or making large quantities of Sangria.
Tip: chill slightly
At a Glance
Taste cherry, strawberry, berry jam
Smell vanilla, strawberry, cherry cola
Food cheese nachos, cheddar, cold cuts
Sweetness off dry
Price $1.99
LCBO# 0
Score

Hillebrand Artist Series Meritage 2007

Date March 22, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

After seeing this bottle time and time again in the LCBO magazine I decided to give it a taste. It's a fairly typical blend, nothing stands out too much. You'll find it Medium-bodied with soft, drying tannins and moderate acidity.
A blend of three classic grape varieties: 52% Cabernet Franc, 45% Merlot, and 3% Cabernet Sauvignon, which undergo traditional red wine making.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe berry, leather, spice
Smell black cherry, strawberry, vanilla
Food pasta, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 56390
Score

Penascal Tempranillo 2005

Date February 19, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & Spain & Tempranillo

This Spanish tempranillo is what I'd imagine you'd find on most people's table in Spain, it's good table wine and the price is just right.
Although the wine is not very complex, I do like the firm tannins in play.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, oak, tea
Smell blackberry, vanilla, spice
Food lamb, stew, sausages
Sweetness dry
Price $8.95
LCBO# 343434
Score

Farnese Montepulciano d’Abruzzo 2007

Date November 27, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

Farnese comes out with another great value wine, this time it's a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo.  This vintage is a medium-full bodied wine that's fruity but still has those typical Italian tannins to maintain it's structure.
Post a comment if you detect a hint of licorice in the palate like I did.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark ripe berry, oak, raisin
Smell raspberry, vanilla, raisin
Food salami, crown roast, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $7.55
LCBO# 621912
Score

Ubuntu Shiraz 2006

Date October 17, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

I'm trying to work out if this wine is popular to younger buyers due to it's price point or the high alcohol content...maybe (probably) both.  Still, the wine is not a bad buy. It doesn't however stick to the main characteristics of shiraz and I'm finding that new world wines (especially from South Africa) aren't a fan of abiding by old (good/proper) standards. 2 stars as the night's first bottle, 2.5 stars as the night's second bottle.
What does Ubuntu mean? Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'Humanity to others', or 'I am what I am because of who we all are'.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, tangy oak, light spice
Smell raspberry jam, cedar, vanilla
Food bbq ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $9.45
LCBO# 665281
Score

Pelee Island Merlot Cabernet 2006

Date October 12, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

This VQA wine has a medium bodied palate with moderate fruit from the merlot, but leans toward the oak barrel with prominent notes of vanilla.  The menthol is a nice addition from the cabernet side of the blend.
If you were wondering, the bird on the label is the American Goldfinch.
Tip: tulip glass, room temperature
At a Glance
Taste oak, vanilla, menthol
Smell vanilla, strawberry, violet
Food burgers, hot dogs
Sweetness dry
Price $9.40
LCBO# 619411
Score

Ascheri Barbera D'Alba Fontanelle 2005

Date August 26, 2008 | Chuck | Barbera & Italy & Red Wine

This medium bodied, single-vineyard barbera is a great value and a nice stray from the day-to-day varietals. For those of you trying barbera for the first time, Ascheri is a great doorway to one of the most planted grapes in Italy.
Benchmarks of a good barbera are: medium-low tannins, high acidity with notes of sour cherries, plums and herbs. Barbera is a great wine to pair with food, especially a saucy italian dish (thanks to the wine's acidity)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, plum, spice
Smell cherry, vanilla, plum
Food cheese and spinach ravioli in tomato sauce
Sweetness extra dry
Price $17.80
LCBO# 982462
Score

Cline Zinfandel 2006

Date August 12, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

This best zinfandels come from California, so it's no surprise that this Californian delivers. What is surprising is that Cline has done it's customers such a favour by making this bottle so affordable. This is the second time Cline has released an overachiever at a great price, see their Syrah here.
This zin has a full mouthfeel, smooth tannins, lots of dark fruit and finishes with subtle spice and vanilla. Exactly what you should expect from a zinfandel.
Tip: grab a few bottles as this can be cellared for up to 4 years
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, spice, vanilla
Smell black cherry, raspberry, vanilla
Food pork ribs, pepperoni calzone
Sweetness dry
Price $12.90
LCBO# 489278
Score

Chantovent Shiraz 2001

Date June 13, 2008 | Chuck | France & Red Wine & Shiraz

Cellaring the right bottles and opening them at peak is a great experience.  I've had this bottle in my rack for 3 or 4 years, and over the years it's conjured up an very complex yet balanced nose.
As good as the feeling is, it's not as fun when you find out you can't get your hands on any more (at least until you visit the winery in the South of France)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe dark berries, oak
Smell raspberry, plum, vanilla
Food burgers, roast beef
Sweetness dry
Price $11.05
LCBO# 589457
Score

Pasion 4 Merlot 2006

Date June 4, 2008 | Sean | Argentina & Merlot & Red Wine

I will admit that I often check out the back of the bottle to get a sense of whats in the bottle. While you don't want to take too much of what the marketing department said to heart, you can usually get some insight. If you want a fiction story go to a library and borrow a book.
While the back of this bottle certainly had great expectations it did fall a little short (and thin). The wine was good and non-offensive but a little something was missing in the middle giving it that thin mouth feel. But still got a high value marks.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, plum, chocolate
Smell rhubarb pie, raspberry, vanilla
Food grilled meat and roast veg
Sweetness dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 59287
Score
Pasion 4 Merlot 2006

Chateau Pesquie Terrasses 2005

Date May 9, 2008 | Sean | France & Red Blend & Red Wine

O.k., this one was a little tricky. I feel like I'm walking on a sharp edge here. Just before being released this wine scored a VERY high mark from a well known wine critic. Sometimes when this happens our expectations for a sub $20 bottle of wine go through the roof.
This bottle of French wine was, well, obviously French. It held the characteristics of French wine from the medium structure tannins to earth notes and that rustic feeling that's hard to describe. However, upon further sipping you'll notice round fruit and implied sweetness breaking through. Then a marriage of tannins, fruit and alcohol suddenly come alive. While we throughly enjoyed this wine, perhaps our hopes were set a little too high?
Tip: In the bottle: Syrah and Grenache
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, plum, cedar
Smell plum, raspberry, vanilla
Food anything bbq
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 652313
Score
chateaupesquieterrassesred.jpg

Liberty School Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Date May 1, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

Here we have a nice California cab which the LCBO has dubbed as a 'Vintages Essential'. Best of all, this bottle has an affordable price tag.
Overall this wine is a winner. It strikes a nice balance between fruit, acidity and tannins. The wine is quite dry, but works surprisingly well on it's own.
Tip: saying it comes from 'Paso Robles' is catchy
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, dark cherry, spice
Smell ripe red fruit, cherry, vanilla
Food grilled, braised or roasted meats
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.85
LCBO# 738823
Score

Lindemans Bin 40 Merlot 2006

Date April 24, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Merlot & Red Wine

Bursting with ripe plum and dark berry flavours, this off dry Australian merlot can be sipped on it's own or paired with food. Noticeably, this wine is designed to be very palatable from the first pour to the last, it does not open up or oxidize as you make your way through the bottle.
For those taking note, get your pen out, as you could call this wine flabby.  To be balanced, it would need more tannin and acidity.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste grape, plum, vanilla
Smell plum, vanilla, menthol
Food roast beef
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.35
LCBO# 458679
Score

Rosenblum Zinfandel 2005

Date March 17, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

If your eyes are bugging you, see an ophthalmologist. If your tooth hurts, see a dentist. If you want a good benchmark zinfandel, try Rosenblum.
I think of zinfandel as the middle ground between cabernet sauvignon and shiraz with a zesty punch. Zinfandel is a terrific varietal, if only more people would be open to it, without a doubt it could (and should) be a staple in everyone's home. Don't forget that zin was the merlot of the 80's, times and palates change and like fashion, it all happens in cycles.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, raspberry, menthol
Smell strawberry, raspberry, vanilla
Food mediterranean, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $17.80
LCBO# 284653
Score

Mount Riley Chardonnay 2005

Date March 15, 2008 | Chuck | Chardonnay & New Zealand & White Wine

My second chardonnay review from Marlborough, New Zealand ( first was Oyster Bay ) and already I've found a common bond, a high price tag.
This wine was quite nice and had nothing at all wrong with it, but it certainly lost points in the value area. Chardonnay is not a tough wine to make and there is plenty of it, and the majority under $18.90. You have to dress to impress to charge that much in this category.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste pineapple, passion fruit
Smell melon, vanilla, butterscotch
Food chicken with mushroom sauce
Sweetness off dry
Price $18.90
LCBO# 32318
Score

Yellow Tail Merlot 2006

Date February 23, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Merlot & Red Wine

Yellow Tail....ahhh, the world's top selling brand. Lets begin.
This is definitely a love it or hate it wine, I found it to be in a class on it's own. If you're a typical merlot drinker, you may not like this one. If you're not a typical wine drinker you may love this wine.
This wine has been labeled as being created in the boardroom rather than in the vineyards (translation: that's what the kids call a 'diss', or what adults call an insult). So they try to appease the masses, good business and it shows, hell, they are the first winery I've found to display Nutritional Information.
Tip: open this bottle up for non-winedrinkers, you just may convert them to the dark side ;)
At a Glance
Taste an entire spice rack, juicy ripe fruit
Smell plum, oak, vanilla
Food bbq
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.20
LCBO# 625350
Score


[1] 
38 Articles per page