Camplazens Syrah 2006

Date November 29, 2009 | Chuck | France & Red Wine & Shiraz

At first sip you can tell this is a french wine without even trying.   The LCBO gave this wine a nice writeup but I'll disagree with it.  They saw plenty of blackberry, fruit and spice, I didn't.  They also mention it's 'very drinkable tonight', while I'd cellar it for 2 years.
At least it's 13.5% Alcohol/Vol.
Tip: If your buying syrah/shiraz, go Aussie (Penfolds), then Californian (Cline)
At a Glance
Taste oak, heat, red berry
Smell oak, resin, greens
Food well done grilled red meat
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 104752
Score

Carlo Rossi California Red 2007

Date October 31, 2009 | Chuck | Red Blend & Red Wine & USA

Everyone loves choices, with this wine you can choose to buy it in a: bottle, large format bottle, funny jug with a ring handle and even a box. America #$@% YEAH!
This wine conjures up memories of a previous review: Charles Shaw Merlot 2007
Tip: price listed is for the 1.5L bottle, don't buy what you can't drink within 2 days.
At a Glance
Taste cherry, plum, vanilla
Smell vanilla, cherry, plum
Food cold cuts
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.45
LCBO# 00070813
Score

Charles Shaw Merlot 2007

Date October 10, 2009 | Sean | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

Only in America? This merlot came to us for $1.99. Often called two-buck-chuck, this wine is mostly found at Trader Joe's in the United States. One thing is certain, we have never  encountered two-dollar wine in Canada...god bless America.
First thing is the colour, yeah thats right I spelled it with a "u". Get over it. Great dark purple, with light edges. We were  actually surprised as this wine is not offensive, easy drinking and generally "not bad". Does that make it a California Cab? Hell no.  But, if your having a group over or making large quantities of Sangria.
Tip: chill slightly
At a Glance
Taste cherry, strawberry, berry jam
Smell vanilla, strawberry, cherry cola
Food cheese nachos, cheddar, cold cuts
Sweetness off dry
Price $1.99
LCBO# 0
Score

Tatone Montepulciano d'Abruzzo 2005

Date September 13, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

For those wondering, Tatone means 'grandfather'. This Italian wine is rich, dry and full bodied.
The first thing you'll notice is the deep purple colour and legs on this wine.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, oak, bitters
Smell mulberry, black cherry, oak
Food grilled portobello mushrooms
Sweetness extra dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 994616
Score

Citra Pinot Grigio 2008

Date September 7, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

It's good to keep a bottle of this value grigio from Abruzzo Italy in the fridge if you ever want a cold glass of white on a weekday evening.
On the plus side (or minus for some) this vintage weighs in at 13%
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste lemon, lime, golden apple
Smell lemon, mineral, golden apple
Food appetizers, brie
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 17483
Score

Rosehall Run Chardonnay Cuvée County 2007

Date August 16, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Chardonnay & White Wine

This crisp, fruit forward chardonnay from Prince Edward County is a good choice for a Sunday lunch
Varietal Composition: 59% Chardonnay; 41% Chardonnay Musqué
Release Date: March 1, 2009
At a Glance
Taste golden apple, floral, light oak
Smell white grapefruit, golden apple, pear
Food fish, salad, goat cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 132928
Score

Wine Shield

Date August 11, 2009 | Chuck | Editorials & Product Reviews

We're frequently asked: "What's the best way to save half a bottle of wine?"
Using a special gas that wine bars use is obviously out of the question, so next we suggest pouring the unused amount into a smaller bottle. What this does is attempt to reduce the amount of oxygen that can surround the wine. As this method isn't perfect and requires a few differently sized bottles, the people at Wine Shield have developed a disc that slides into your original wine bottle and sits on top of the liquid forming a barrier between the exposed wine and the bottle's oxygen, thus delaying the Oxidation process which eats away at your wine's freshness.
We found that the product does indeed help.  Swirl the bottle a few times after dropping the shield in to get it to lay perfectly flat.  Continue to use a cork or screw cap and refrigerate the bottle as you normally would.
    
Find them at the websites below:
Canada http://www.wineshieldcanada.com/catalog/retail
USA: http://www.buywineshield.com/

Ironstone Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date August 9, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

A benchmark California cab. Very approachable and hits all the marks one would expect.
Because I've cellared this bottle for a while, I couldn't find it's LCBO number, but be sure to check out their next vintage when it hits shelves.  I've just put their merlot on my shopping list: VINTAGES# 704353
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cassis, dark cherry, chocolate
Smell cassis, dark cherry, toasted oak
Food grilled red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $18.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Rosehall Run Cabernet Franc 2007

Date July 12, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

If you're not a regular Cab Franc buyer, give this bottle one last shot and it may change your mind. The warm growing season allowed the grapes to ripen well and therefore reduce the sometimes overpowering green notes of this varietal.
Vintages Release is on Aug 29, 2009
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste rich red fruit, oak, smoke
Smell black cherry, currant, sweet smoke
Food grilled red meat, game
Sweetness dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Ruffino Il Ducale 2005

Date June 21, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Sangiovese

Here's a great example of a Super Tuscan done right. This IGT wine is only IGT because it bent the rules slightly but it was worth it. A very close cousin to chianti, this bottle will pair well with any Italian food or bbq'd red meat. Overall it's nice and round, medium to full bodied with smooth tannins.
Blend is: 60% sangiovese, 25% merlot and 15% syrah
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark cherry, chocolate, cigar box
Smell plum, cherry, warm spice
Food grilled red meat, ravioli
Sweetness dry
Price $19.80
LCBO# 27797
Score

$1.99 - are you frigging kidding me!?!

Date May 25, 2009 | Sean | Editorials & Special Features

I’m in sunny California this week and of course had to check out Trader Jo’s to see what the wine situation is out here. California Merlot for $1.99 – nope that isn’t a typo – one dollar and ninety-nine cents. Of course I purchased a bottle and rushed back to the hotel, which apparently is some kind of purgatory because I do not have cork screw! The front desk does not have a cork screw! None of the frightened guests on my floor have a cork screw (they get so edgy when you bang on their doors demanding sharp objects)! At this point your wondering how I am without bottle opening implements...the FAA and airport security are so damn picky about these things. I don’t have high expectations, but I’ll take one for the team. $1.99, WTF. 1.99 Wine

Candidato Oro 2005

Date May 24, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & Spain & Tempranillo

The aromas were much easier to identify than the flavours in this particular wine.  To add to the tasting notes below, there was something sweet and sour about this wine that stood out especially when mixed with herbaceous notes.
Although mostly tempranillo, this vintage was also blended with some grenache.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour berry, tomato leaf, bitters
Smell sweet smoke, spice, blueberry
Food cold cuts
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 523811
Score

Voga Quattro 2006

Date May 3, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Red Blend & Red Wine

At first glance this bottle looks like something shampoo would come it, but once on the table with the cap off, it feels kind of futuristic. Overall this is a pretty good wine, a little bit more than the lower end reds but it's worth the extra 3.50. Overall it's a dry, medium bodied wine with soft acidity and ripe tannins.
4-Way Blend (quatto means four in Italian): Merlot, Shiraz, Pinot Noir and Cabernet.  Surprisingly, the pinot really does shine through.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, spice, light oak
Smell red berry, raspberry, white pepper
Food veal marsala
Sweetness dry
Price $13.95
LCBO# 78048
Score

Fuzion Shiraz Malbec 2008

Date April 19, 2009 | Chuck | Argentina & Malbec & Red Wine & Shiraz

Not too distinctive but very Argentine, this blend of shiraz and malbec makes a fine wine to drink with anything bbq'd.
The malbec seems as if it's muting some of the shiraz's best qualities and thus giving this vintage a slightly unsophisticated palate; however, for the asking price I can look the other way.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste plum, prune, violet
Smell prune, black cherry, earth
Food barbecue
Sweetness dry
Price $7.45
LCBO# 83188
Score

Strewn Riesling Gewürztraminer 2007

Date April 9, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

This fusion of whites provides a deep bouquet and crisp palette. It's an ok buy, but I would recommend the Pillitteri over it and even Strewn's regular riesling.
Best as an aperitif
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste pineapple, apple, cinnamon
Smell tropical fruit, pineapple, pear
Food aperitif
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 467662
Score

Tangley Oaks Merlot Returns!...however...

Date April 7, 2009 | Sean | Editorials & Events

I've just been informed that On April 11, 2009 our Ontario readers are in for a big treat.  The Tangley Oaks Merlot (2005 Vintage) returns to the LCBO.  You might remember the rave reviews we gave the 2003, if not click here.  We haven't tasted it (yet) but I'm being told that it's equally as good as the last batch.  However, one thing has changed.  The price.  Last time around it was available for $17.95, according to the latest Vintages mag it's going for $21.95.  Unfortunately it won't be officially reviewed by nosnob.com, but if you don't mind breaking the $20 limit by $1.95 you won't be disappointed.  ENJOY! From the LCBO Website: A Merlot from Napa that bountifully displays the virtues of this misunderstood grape. Filled with cherry, espresso, spice and toast aromas and flavours, this wonderfully balanced wine will cellar 2-4 years or enjoy it now with grilled lamb or gourmet sausages.

Liberty School Zinfandel 2006

Date April 2, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

When I tried their 2005 Cabernet I made a mental note to remember the name Liberty School.   I'm glad I did.
Their label sums it up nicely: "fruit-driven, soft and approachable".  The tannins are present but not overpowering which lets the drinker enjoy it on it's own or paired with food.
Tip: Released on Jan 17, 2009
At a Glance
Taste dark ripe berry, warm spice, vanilla
Smell dark ripe berry, warm spice, cherry
Food beef, steak, sausage
Sweetness dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 41095
Score

Hillebrand Artist Series Meritage 2007

Date March 22, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

After seeing this bottle time and time again in the LCBO magazine I decided to give it a taste. It's a fairly typical blend, nothing stands out too much. You'll find it Medium-bodied with soft, drying tannins and moderate acidity.
A blend of three classic grape varieties: 52% Cabernet Franc, 45% Merlot, and 3% Cabernet Sauvignon, which undergo traditional red wine making.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe berry, leather, spice
Smell black cherry, strawberry, vanilla
Food pasta, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 56390
Score

D'arenberg The Stump Jump White 2007

Date March 16, 2009 | Sean | Australia & White Blend & White Wine

The thermometer broke the 0 mark this weekend, which means its time to get ready for summer by chilling some white wine. Wanting to ease in to the white wine season I picked a blend hoping for something easy going and well rounded.  This wine certainly achieved this.  Like it's name, it did jump out of the glass, but in a good way.
Comprised of 62% Riesling, 18% Sauvignon Blanc, 8% Marsanne, 6% Viognier and 6% Chardonnay
Tip: Chill Well
At a Glance
Taste mixed citrus, lemon, light oak
Smell gooseberry, pear
Food cashews, tart fruit
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 922203
Score
Bottle Image

Two Oceans Pinot Noir 2007

Date March 8, 2009 | Chuck | Pinot Noir & Red Wine & South Africa

This value pinot from Two Oceans from South Africa is a pretty good find as far as value pinots go.  The medium to light body is a nice change from the typical big reds we often find ourselves drinking by default.
You may taste some subtle spice such as cinnamon/clove.
Tip: tulip glass, chilled
At a Glance
Taste smoky, cedar, ripe red berry
Smell strawberry, smoky, cherry
Food pasta primavera, hamburgers
Sweetness dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 61598
Score

Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso 2005

Date March 1, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

This DOC Italian ripasso was received very well by everyone at the table. The re-passing (ripasso) technique involves a second fermentaion on the leftover grape skins of Amarone giving it a deeper colour, fuller body, aroma and flavour. Also watch for hints of perrer and ginger.
Grapes used: Corvina 65%, Rondinella 20%, Molinara 5%, altri vitigni (others) 10%
Tip: Release Date - Nov 8, 2008
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, anise, light oak
Smell black cherry, plum, tar
Food red meat, cheese, portobello mushrooms
Sweetness dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 999946
Score

B&G Partager Rouge

Date February 26, 2009 | Chuck | France & Red Blend & Red Wine

Here is a nice example of an easy drinking French 'Vin de Table'. It's: non-vintage, very smooth, mild tannin, not complex, very drinkable and very affordable.
Blend consists of: Grenache, Cinsault, Carignan, Syrah
Tip: comes in a 1L bottle
At a Glance
Taste soft berry, tart raspberry, light toasted oak
Smell soft berry, strawberry
Food red meat, medium cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 130674
Score

Penascal Tempranillo 2005

Date February 19, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & Spain & Tempranillo

This Spanish tempranillo is what I'd imagine you'd find on most people's table in Spain, it's good table wine and the price is just right.
Although the wine is not very complex, I do like the firm tannins in play.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, oak, tea
Smell blackberry, vanilla, spice
Food lamb, stew, sausages
Sweetness dry
Price $8.95
LCBO# 343434
Score

Rosehall Run Pinot Noir Cuvée County 2007

Date February 14, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Pinot Noir & Red Wine

Making pinot noir is tough (it's not called the heartbreak grape for nothing). Making a GOOD pinot noir is tougher. Making a GREAT pinot noir for under $20 is what Rosehall Run has done with their 2007 VQA vintage.
While drinking you'll notice that for a medium-light red, this pinot has a long finish. Coupled with the balanced acidity it also acts as a palate cleanser making this vintage easy to drink for wine aficionados and to be aficionados alike. Enjoy this wine slightly chilled and on the first day you open it. While drinking now, the winemaker assures it will developer further over the next five years.
Tip: Release Date - March 1, 2009
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, vanilla, mild oak
Smell raspberry, strawberry, lees
Food duck, game
Sweetness dry
Price $18.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Carmen Merlot 2007

Date February 6, 2009 | Chuck | Chile & Merlot & Red Wine

So far in 2009, Chile has not been able to hold a torch to it's previous growth years which showed excellent wines at even better values. Hopefully this will turn around soon.
After reading the label that the people at Vina Carmen decided best represented this vintage, I was expecting a hit. I was wrong...actually their label mislead me. Specifically when they prepared you for a finish showing "soft tannins and a lingering fruit finish" I didn't taste either and the finish was far too hot.
Tip: chill more than usual
At a Glance
Taste dark berry, vanilla, oak
Smell black cherry, cola, spice
Food burger
Sweetness dry
Price $10.90
LCBO# 248625
Score

Domaine des Aspes Merlot 2005

Date January 31, 2009 | Sean | France & Merlot & Red Wine

I don't drink a lot of French wine.  There I said it.  I'm also willing to bet you don't either.  Probably because the France section of the liquor store is a scary place.  But in my quest for great wines under $20 I came across Domaine des Aspes a few years ago.
This is the first red from them that I have tried (the whites are terrific).  This is an easy going Merlot with lots of character, nice even black fruit.  Does not need food to shine, also a crowd pleaser.  I picked up a case and stashed it in my collection for everyday wine.
Tip: Released on Jan 10, 2009
At a Glance
Taste black berry, cedar, plum
Smell dark berries, black cherry, wild raspberry
Food beef stew, grilled vegetables, light pasta
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 951665
Score
ddamerlot2.jpg

Gourmet Food and Wine Expo 2008 Picture Tour

Date January 28, 2009 | Sean | Editorials & Events

nosnob.com attended the Toronto Gourmet Food and Wine Expo in November 2008. 

 

We had a great time trying new wines and talking to wine makers.  This event attracts thousands of visitors over 4 days and is held in downtown Toronto.

 

The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the drinks flow freely. The food component of the show is somewhat limited considering it’s the “Food and Wine Expo”. But who cares, if your like us you didn’t go for the food.

 

As usual the show was packed. Seems that any wine show in Toronto is usually overflowing with visitors...what does that say about Torontonians? (We'll ponder that for a while and get back to you). 

 

In the mean time have a look at some pictures from the expo...do you see yourself in any of them?

 

If you attended let us know what you thought about this event. www.foodandwineexpo.ca

 

 

 

 

Hillebrand Trius Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date January 16, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Canada & Red Wine

Once again my favourite brand doesn't disappoint! The 2007 vintage will surely be a crowd pleaser due to it's well balanced palate and nicely integrated tannins.
This cab has an excellent nose but a bit more depth and structure on the palate and this would be an incredible bottle. Watch for subtle hints of cedar and spice on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dried fruit, medium oak, red berry
Smell cassis, smoky oak, blueberry
Food pasta, aged cheddar
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 587956
Score

Strewn Semi-Dry Riesling 2006

Date January 11, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Riesling & White Wine

This pale straw coloured riesling, served well chilled looked, smelled and tasted great in my new Riedel glassware. The past few cold winters didn't affect the riesling vines as much as others, which may be why it's the hottest white on the market right now.
Overall this is a great buy: crisp, acidic and flavourful. Proof why you should keep buying your whites from Ontario.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste grapefruit, lemon, pineapple
Smell pineapple, tropical fruit, floral
Food pork, chinese
Sweetness off dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 616599
Score

Perez Cruz Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2007

Date January 4, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

This is the 2007 vintage of the site favourite 2005. Once finding such a great wine you hope that subsequent years will be on par or better, but this vintage reminds us that grapes and wine are living, breathing, unformulated works - the weather changes from year to year, as does the soil and grapes, making the recipe change and so on.
With all the above said, this is still a good wine, just not as great as previous vintages. You can tell it spent a bit too much time in the barrel and didn't taste as refined as it could be.  Well worth a try if you particularly like french or ontario reds.
Tip: drink a bottle and cellar the other for 1 or 2 years
At a Glance
Taste oak, medium berry, eucalyptus
Smell blackberry, oak, black tea
Food beef, sausages
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 694208
Score

Hillebrand Trius Cabernet Franc 2004

Date December 20, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

The Trius line is, in my opinion, the most consistent line of products in the general list.  The cab franc being no different, but it is VERY different than your usual dull and overly herbaceous cab francs.
Watch for a hint of clove in the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberries, sweet oak, plum
Smell currant, smoky oak, sweet jam
Food beef, mushroom dishes
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 587964
Score

Fontanafredda Barbera Briccotondo 2006

Date December 12, 2008 | Chuck | Barbera & Italy & Red Wine

This value barbera coming from Piedmont, Italy is a medium bodied acidic red that proves the time tested fact that Italian wine always matches Italian food. I had this wine with a plate of pasta and meatballs and the wine's acidity matched the acidity in the tomato sauce perfectly. On that note, if you don't usually like Italian reds, this isn't for you.  There was also a hint of eucalyptus in on the palate.
The 2006 vintage was on Wine Spectator's Top 100 in 2007 with a score of 90 points
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, raspberry, oak
Smell cherry, tea, oak
Food pasta with tomato sauce and meatballs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 72348
Score

Pillitteri Cabernet Merlot 2006

Date December 6, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

This red VQA is pretty bold, the meritage has a big aroma that at first all I could smell was matchsticks, but after opening up it moved more towards a tobacco scent.
The blend used to create this vintage was: 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 25% Cabernet Franc and 20% Merlot. I wonder why the Franc didn't get top billing over the Merlot? It's presence is greater in the juice and palate.
Tip: decant this for a about 10 minutes
At a Glance
Taste smoky, violet, blackberry
Smell tobacco, leafy, plum
Food pasta with tomato sauce, cheddar
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349191
Score

Farnese Montepulciano d’Abruzzo 2007

Date November 27, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

Farnese comes out with another great value wine, this time it's a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo.  This vintage is a medium-full bodied wine that's fruity but still has those typical Italian tannins to maintain it's structure.
Post a comment if you detect a hint of licorice in the palate like I did.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark ripe berry, oak, raisin
Smell raspberry, vanilla, raisin
Food salami, crown roast, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $7.55
LCBO# 621912
Score

Gray Fox Chardonnay 2007

Date November 16, 2008 | Chuck | Chardonnay & USA & White Wine

This vintage has layers of great flavours and aromas, it's priced well and is readily available.
People who are weary of the heavily oaked, buttery and spiced chardonnays don't have to tread lightly here, this bottle is nothing of the kind. Drink up.
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste apple, citrus, mineral
Smell golden apple, lime, grapefruit
Food roast chicken, pork chops
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 614271
Score

Ironstone Old Vine Zinfandel 2005

Date November 8, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

Take the best notes from Cabernet and Shiraz, add some zip, and you have a great Zinfandel. This old vine release from Ironstone has excellent concentrated fruit flavors and incredible depth. The high alcohol is very well balanced and not at all overpowering. Flavours and aromas are big and chewy.
In Ironstone's case "Old Vine" means the grapes were hand selected from vineyards that are over 45 years old.
Tip: 90% Zinfandel, 10% Petite Sirah
At a Glance
Taste cassis, blackberry, chocolate
Smell cassis, chocolate, oak
Food beef fajitas
Sweetness dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 951889
Score

Fish Eye Shiraz 2005

Date November 1, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Different name, different label, different light green bottle...different thoughts of what shiraz is supposed to be. That said I'm not surprised at what I got: a shiraz with no pop. A proper shiraz should have blackberry, pepper and leather notes to it. But they're nowhere to be found in this vintage.
Take this for what it is: an easy, medium-light bodied summer sipper. If tasted blind, you'd guess merlot.
Tip: you'll want to chill this shiraz more than a typical one.
At a Glance
Taste medium berry, cherry, raspberry
Smell medium berry, hint of oak
Food grilled vegetables, sandwiches
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 35113
Score

Gray Fox Merlot 2007

Date October 25, 2008 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

Seems like we're having a bit of trouble finding a good house merlot. For such a popular varietal, you'd think we'd have more luck...maybe this varietal is suffering from market saturation.
This particular budget merlot has a light-medium body with medium-light fruit content. It didn't seem very refined and felt rushed out the door. I much prefer their Gray Fox Cabernet Sauvignon 2006
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, sour berry
Smell cherry, alcohol, geranium
Food club sandwich
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 527507
Score


« < [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] > » 
38 Articles per page