Reviews in Category: Red Wine (Clear Filter)

Hillebrand Artist Series Meritage 2007

Date March 22, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

After seeing this bottle time and time again in the LCBO magazine I decided to give it a taste. It's a fairly typical blend, nothing stands out too much. You'll find it Medium-bodied with soft, drying tannins and moderate acidity.
A blend of three classic grape varieties: 52% Cabernet Franc, 45% Merlot, and 3% Cabernet Sauvignon, which undergo traditional red wine making.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe berry, leather, spice
Smell black cherry, strawberry, vanilla
Food pasta, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 56390
Score

Two Oceans Pinot Noir 2007

Date March 8, 2009 | Chuck | Pinot Noir & Red Wine & South Africa

This value pinot from Two Oceans from South Africa is a pretty good find as far as value pinots go.  The medium to light body is a nice change from the typical big reds we often find ourselves drinking by default.
You may taste some subtle spice such as cinnamon/clove.
Tip: tulip glass, chilled
At a Glance
Taste smoky, cedar, ripe red berry
Smell strawberry, smoky, cherry
Food pasta primavera, hamburgers
Sweetness dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 61598
Score

Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso 2005

Date March 1, 2009 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

This DOC Italian ripasso was received very well by everyone at the table. The re-passing (ripasso) technique involves a second fermentaion on the leftover grape skins of Amarone giving it a deeper colour, fuller body, aroma and flavour. Also watch for hints of perrer and ginger.
Grapes used: Corvina 65%, Rondinella 20%, Molinara 5%, altri vitigni (others) 10%
Tip: Release Date - Nov 8, 2008
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, anise, light oak
Smell black cherry, plum, tar
Food red meat, cheese, portobello mushrooms
Sweetness dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 999946
Score

B&G Partager Rouge

Date February 26, 2009 | Chuck | France & Red Blend & Red Wine

Here is a nice example of an easy drinking French 'Vin de Table'. It's: non-vintage, very smooth, mild tannin, not complex, very drinkable and very affordable.
Blend consists of: Grenache, Cinsault, Carignan, Syrah
Tip: comes in a 1L bottle
At a Glance
Taste soft berry, tart raspberry, light toasted oak
Smell soft berry, strawberry
Food red meat, medium cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 130674
Score

Penascal Tempranillo 2005

Date February 19, 2009 | Chuck | Red Wine & Spain & Tempranillo

This Spanish tempranillo is what I'd imagine you'd find on most people's table in Spain, it's good table wine and the price is just right.
Although the wine is not very complex, I do like the firm tannins in play.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, oak, tea
Smell blackberry, vanilla, spice
Food lamb, stew, sausages
Sweetness dry
Price $8.95
LCBO# 343434
Score

Rosehall Run Pinot Noir Cuvée County 2007

Date February 14, 2009 | Chuck | Canada & Pinot Noir & Red Wine

Making pinot noir is tough (it's not called the heartbreak grape for nothing). Making a GOOD pinot noir is tougher. Making a GREAT pinot noir for under $20 is what Rosehall Run has done with their 2007 VQA vintage.
While drinking you'll notice that for a medium-light red, this pinot has a long finish. Coupled with the balanced acidity it also acts as a palate cleanser making this vintage easy to drink for wine aficionados and to be aficionados alike. Enjoy this wine slightly chilled and on the first day you open it. While drinking now, the winemaker assures it will developer further over the next five years.
Tip: Release Date - March 1, 2009
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, vanilla, mild oak
Smell raspberry, strawberry, lees
Food duck, game
Sweetness dry
Price $18.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Carmen Merlot 2007

Date February 6, 2009 | Chuck | Chile & Merlot & Red Wine

So far in 2009, Chile has not been able to hold a torch to it's previous growth years which showed excellent wines at even better values. Hopefully this will turn around soon.
After reading the label that the people at Vina Carmen decided best represented this vintage, I was expecting a hit. I was wrong...actually their label mislead me. Specifically when they prepared you for a finish showing "soft tannins and a lingering fruit finish" I didn't taste either and the finish was far too hot.
Tip: chill more than usual
At a Glance
Taste dark berry, vanilla, oak
Smell black cherry, cola, spice
Food burger
Sweetness dry
Price $10.90
LCBO# 248625
Score

Domaine des Aspes Merlot 2005

Date January 31, 2009 | Sean | France & Merlot & Red Wine

I don't drink a lot of French wine.  There I said it.  I'm also willing to bet you don't either.  Probably because the France section of the liquor store is a scary place.  But in my quest for great wines under $20 I came across Domaine des Aspes a few years ago.
This is the first red from them that I have tried (the whites are terrific).  This is an easy going Merlot with lots of character, nice even black fruit.  Does not need food to shine, also a crowd pleaser.  I picked up a case and stashed it in my collection for everyday wine.
Tip: Released on Jan 10, 2009
At a Glance
Taste black berry, cedar, plum
Smell dark berries, black cherry, wild raspberry
Food beef stew, grilled vegetables, light pasta
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 951665
Score
ddamerlot2.jpg

Hillebrand Trius Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date January 16, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Canada & Red Wine

Once again my favourite brand doesn't disappoint! The 2007 vintage will surely be a crowd pleaser due to it's well balanced palate and nicely integrated tannins.
This cab has an excellent nose but a bit more depth and structure on the palate and this would be an incredible bottle. Watch for subtle hints of cedar and spice on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dried fruit, medium oak, red berry
Smell cassis, smoky oak, blueberry
Food pasta, aged cheddar
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 587956
Score

Perez Cruz Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2007

Date January 4, 2009 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

This is the 2007 vintage of the site favourite 2005. Once finding such a great wine you hope that subsequent years will be on par or better, but this vintage reminds us that grapes and wine are living, breathing, unformulated works - the weather changes from year to year, as does the soil and grapes, making the recipe change and so on.
With all the above said, this is still a good wine, just not as great as previous vintages. You can tell it spent a bit too much time in the barrel and didn't taste as refined as it could be.  Well worth a try if you particularly like french or ontario reds.
Tip: drink a bottle and cellar the other for 1 or 2 years
At a Glance
Taste oak, medium berry, eucalyptus
Smell blackberry, oak, black tea
Food beef, sausages
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 694208
Score

Hillebrand Trius Cabernet Franc 2004

Date December 20, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

The Trius line is, in my opinion, the most consistent line of products in the general list.  The cab franc being no different, but it is VERY different than your usual dull and overly herbaceous cab francs.
Watch for a hint of clove in the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberries, sweet oak, plum
Smell currant, smoky oak, sweet jam
Food beef, mushroom dishes
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 587964
Score

Fontanafredda Barbera Briccotondo 2006

Date December 12, 2008 | Chuck | Barbera & Italy & Red Wine

This value barbera coming from Piedmont, Italy is a medium bodied acidic red that proves the time tested fact that Italian wine always matches Italian food. I had this wine with a plate of pasta and meatballs and the wine's acidity matched the acidity in the tomato sauce perfectly. On that note, if you don't usually like Italian reds, this isn't for you.  There was also a hint of eucalyptus in on the palate.
The 2006 vintage was on Wine Spectator's Top 100 in 2007 with a score of 90 points
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, raspberry, oak
Smell cherry, tea, oak
Food pasta with tomato sauce and meatballs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 72348
Score

Pillitteri Cabernet Merlot 2006

Date December 6, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

This red VQA is pretty bold, the meritage has a big aroma that at first all I could smell was matchsticks, but after opening up it moved more towards a tobacco scent.
The blend used to create this vintage was: 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 25% Cabernet Franc and 20% Merlot. I wonder why the Franc didn't get top billing over the Merlot? It's presence is greater in the juice and palate.
Tip: decant this for a about 10 minutes
At a Glance
Taste smoky, violet, blackberry
Smell tobacco, leafy, plum
Food pasta with tomato sauce, cheddar
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349191
Score

Farnese Montepulciano d’Abruzzo 2007

Date November 27, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Montepulciano & Red Wine

Farnese comes out with another great value wine, this time it's a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo.  This vintage is a medium-full bodied wine that's fruity but still has those typical Italian tannins to maintain it's structure.
Post a comment if you detect a hint of licorice in the palate like I did.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste dark ripe berry, oak, raisin
Smell raspberry, vanilla, raisin
Food salami, crown roast, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $7.55
LCBO# 621912
Score

Ironstone Old Vine Zinfandel 2005

Date November 8, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

Take the best notes from Cabernet and Shiraz, add some zip, and you have a great Zinfandel. This old vine release from Ironstone has excellent concentrated fruit flavors and incredible depth. The high alcohol is very well balanced and not at all overpowering. Flavours and aromas are big and chewy.
In Ironstone's case "Old Vine" means the grapes were hand selected from vineyards that are over 45 years old.
Tip: 90% Zinfandel, 10% Petite Sirah
At a Glance
Taste cassis, blackberry, chocolate
Smell cassis, chocolate, oak
Food beef fajitas
Sweetness dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 951889
Score

Fish Eye Shiraz 2005

Date November 1, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & USA

Different name, different label, different light green bottle...different thoughts of what shiraz is supposed to be. That said I'm not surprised at what I got: a shiraz with no pop. A proper shiraz should have blackberry, pepper and leather notes to it. But they're nowhere to be found in this vintage.
Take this for what it is: an easy, medium-light bodied summer sipper. If tasted blind, you'd guess merlot.
Tip: you'll want to chill this shiraz more than a typical one.
At a Glance
Taste medium berry, cherry, raspberry
Smell medium berry, hint of oak
Food grilled vegetables, sandwiches
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 35113
Score

Gray Fox Merlot 2007

Date October 25, 2008 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

Seems like we're having a bit of trouble finding a good house merlot. For such a popular varietal, you'd think we'd have more luck...maybe this varietal is suffering from market saturation.
This particular budget merlot has a light-medium body with medium-light fruit content. It didn't seem very refined and felt rushed out the door. I much prefer their Gray Fox Cabernet Sauvignon 2006
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, sour berry
Smell cherry, alcohol, geranium
Food club sandwich
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 527507
Score

Ubuntu Shiraz 2006

Date October 17, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

I'm trying to work out if this wine is popular to younger buyers due to it's price point or the high alcohol content...maybe (probably) both.  Still, the wine is not a bad buy. It doesn't however stick to the main characteristics of shiraz and I'm finding that new world wines (especially from South Africa) aren't a fan of abiding by old (good/proper) standards. 2 stars as the night's first bottle, 2.5 stars as the night's second bottle.
What does Ubuntu mean? Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'Humanity to others', or 'I am what I am because of who we all are'.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, tangy oak, light spice
Smell raspberry jam, cedar, vanilla
Food bbq ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $9.45
LCBO# 665281
Score

Pelee Island Merlot Cabernet 2006

Date October 12, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

This VQA wine has a medium bodied palate with moderate fruit from the merlot, but leans toward the oak barrel with prominent notes of vanilla.  The menthol is a nice addition from the cabernet side of the blend.
If you were wondering, the bird on the label is the American Goldfinch.
Tip: tulip glass, room temperature
At a Glance
Taste oak, vanilla, menthol
Smell vanilla, strawberry, violet
Food burgers, hot dogs
Sweetness dry
Price $9.40
LCBO# 619411
Score

Masi Campofiorin 2004

Date October 2, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

This is the 34th vintage of this supervenetian comprised of: 70% Corvina, 25% Rondinella and 5% Molinara. This wine is made using the appasimento technique (double fermentation) and the result is a full bodied wine with soft tannins. There are hints of the following: resin, jam, violet and a tangy finish.
This wine will pair very well with a variety of foods including: red meat, sharp cheeses, osso bucco, wild mushroom risotto and veal parm.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, oak, prune
Smell raisin, mulberry, light oak
Food red meat, steak, sharp cheese, veal
Sweetness dry
Price $17.45
LCBO# 155051
Score

Eastdell Estates Black Cab 2006

Date September 12, 2008 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

Probably the most interesting meritage I've ever tried, this VQA wine from Beamsville is a blend of Cabernet Franc, Baco Noir and Cabernet Sauvignon.   People taking notes will notice that the Merlot has been swapped out for the Baco Noir, which is no doubt what gives this wine it's funky edge.
Medium bodied, oak aging and the baco give this wine a really interesting, almost sweet and sour taste that keeps you guessing.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste vanilla, oak, tart blackberry
Smell sweet blackberry, sweet cherry, smoky
Food stir fry
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 609875
Score

Corte Zovo Sa' Solin Ripasso Della Valpolicella 2004

Date September 6, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

This DOC bottle comes all the way from the birthplace of ripasso, Veneto, Italy.  It's a tannic, medium to full bodied wine that would go very well with heavy beef dishes.
Hats off any winemaker that can achieve such smoothness while having an alcohol content of 14.5%, learn from my experience...drink slowly.  The price jump of 2 dollars from the 2003 vintage was sad to see, in Ontario: c'est la vie.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste rasin, cherry, black licorice
Smell blackberry, cherry, coffee
Food beef dishes, sheppards pie
Sweetness extra dry
Price $17.95
LCBO# 650713
Score

Canaletto Nero d'Avola / Merlot 2007

Date September 1, 2008 | Chuck | Nero d'Avola & Red Blend & Red Wine

This Sicilian red is a pretty good IGT find. It's a medium bodied wine through and through with medium fruit tannins with a respectable length.
I learned something new when the winemakers comments read: each grape variety is vinified separately.
Tip: the nose outshone the palate, which nearly made it a 2.5
At a Glance
Taste plum, tea, menthol
Smell dark cherry, blackberry, strawberry
Food cannelloni
Sweetness dry
Price $13.55
LCBO# 29421
Score

Pasqua Volto Primitivo 2006

Date August 28, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Primitivo & Red Wine

High five to all the tree-huggers out there, this is my first bottle of wine in a PET (plastic) bottle, and surprisingly I didn't hate it as much as I would have thought.  Although I wouldn't feel good about bringing a PET bottle as a hostess present, my favourite aspect of it was the smaller and lighter size of the bottle, while remaining to hold 750ml.
I've said it before and I'll say it again, although primitivo is genetically the same as zinfandel, it is not styled the same and doesn't hold a candle to a California Zin.  Maybe this skewed my option a bit due to the fact that I would love to find such a value priced zin, regardless, I found myself at a table with two others who thought the wine was quite nice.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste tart plum, sour cherry
Smell mulberry, blackberry
Food mushroom and parmesan pasta
Sweetness dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 64121
Score

Ascheri Barbera D'Alba Fontanelle 2005

Date August 26, 2008 | Chuck | Barbera & Italy & Red Wine

This medium bodied, single-vineyard barbera is a great value and a nice stray from the day-to-day varietals. For those of you trying barbera for the first time, Ascheri is a great doorway to one of the most planted grapes in Italy.
Benchmarks of a good barbera are: medium-low tannins, high acidity with notes of sour cherries, plums and herbs. Barbera is a great wine to pair with food, especially a saucy italian dish (thanks to the wine's acidity)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, plum, spice
Smell cherry, vanilla, plum
Food cheese and spinach ravioli in tomato sauce
Sweetness extra dry
Price $17.80
LCBO# 982462
Score

Cline Zinfandel 2006

Date August 12, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & USA & Zinfandel

This best zinfandels come from California, so it's no surprise that this Californian delivers. What is surprising is that Cline has done it's customers such a favour by making this bottle so affordable. This is the second time Cline has released an overachiever at a great price, see their Syrah here.
This zin has a full mouthfeel, smooth tannins, lots of dark fruit and finishes with subtle spice and vanilla. Exactly what you should expect from a zinfandel.
Tip: grab a few bottles as this can be cellared for up to 4 years
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, spice, vanilla
Smell black cherry, raspberry, vanilla
Food pork ribs, pepperoni calzone
Sweetness dry
Price $12.90
LCBO# 489278
Score

Casal Thaulero Sangiovese 2007

Date August 5, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Sangiovese

Cruising the isles looking for another IGT overachiever, I bought this bottle. While I wouldn't make it a favourite, it was worth the $7.10 I paid for it. It was a medium wine all the way from mouthfeel to tannins.
This wine is good, but if you're looking for sangiovese; be sure to try the nosnob favourite by: Farnese
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sour cherry, red berries,
Smell cherry, berry, espresso
Food hard cheeses
Sweetness dry
Price $7.10
LCBO# 588996
Score

Misterio Malbec 2007

Date August 2, 2008 | Chuck | Argentina & Malbec & Red Wine

The destination (Argentina) was right, but this wine wasn't really what I was expecting. The heavy violet aroma and tastes were overkill and not very characteristic, they also tell us the grapes could have used more time to ripen.
The plum and oak notes were nice but the bitter floral finish put me off.
Tip: tulip glass, slightly chilled
At a Glance
Taste violet (bitter floral), black plum, oak
Smell violet, black plum, oak
Food bbq red meat
Sweetness extra dry
Price $9.90
LCBO# 28803
Score

Obikwa Shiraz 2007

Date July 30, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

Let this value priced shiraz open up for about 20 minutes before drinking. Once mellowed, you'll find it quite palatable and very food friendly.
Not a whole lot to report back about, this bottle is your run of the mill - not bad - decent value - South African shiraz. If you're running in and out of the wine shop to pickup a picnic red, give it an extra half star.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste plum, spice, blackberry
Smell red fruit, spice, cassis
Food vegetarian lasagna
Sweetness dry
Price $9.50
LCBO# 527499
Score

Malivoire Gamay 2006

Date July 26, 2008 | Sean | Canada & Gamay Noir & Red Wine

We had the fortune of previewing this wine months ago at an event in Toronto.  Since then I have been waiting "patiently" for this wine to make it's general release.  While I love a good Pinot, a great Gamay is irresistible.  Very close to $20.00 but very worth it for that summer dinner or BBQ with good friends.
To describe this wine in a word I would choose "elegant".  While it does incorporate some of the earthy qualities of a Pinot, it's a very refined and balanced bottle.  Ontario climate certainly has a lot to do with this all star.
Tip: 10 minutes in the fridge before severing - slight chill
At a Glance
Taste wild berries, earth, passion fruit tea
Smell raspberry coulis, black tea, wild blueberry
Food veal roast with roasted vegetable salad
Sweetness dry
Price $17.00
LCBO# 591313
Score
Malivoire Gamay

Ironstone Cabernet Sauvignon 2004

Date July 24, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

This Californian cabernet has a medium-full bodied mouthfeel, very smooth tannins and silky finish.
Very well liked at the table by all, even non-affectionados.
Tip: described in a single word: delicious
At a Glance
Taste cassis, strawberry, tea
Smell mulberry, blackberry, menthol
Food grilled portobello mushrooms
Sweetness dry
Price $17.90
LCBO#
Score

Cono Sur Pinot Noir 2007

Date July 20, 2008 | Sean | Chile & Pinot Noir & Red Wine

I am Pinot hear me roar! That statement should never come to mind when enjoying a Pinot Noir. Pinot's are subtle, elegant wines that carry light and bright flavors and aromas.
Opening and tasting this bottle at room temperature was a little overwhelming. It was bold, angled and a little obnoxious...trying a little too hard to be a "good Pinot Noir". However, 15 minutes in the fridge and this wine became a gentle giant. Smooth and relaxed, still a little too vibrant but overall nice flavors for the price point.
Tip: chill 15 - 20 minutes in the fridge before enjoying
At a Glance
Taste wild strawberry, licorice, raspberry
Smell strawberry jam, raspberry jello, menthol
Food grilled fine cuts of beef
Sweetness dry
Price $10.45
LCBO# 341602
Score
Cono Sur Pinot Noir

Goats Do Roam Goat-Roti 2005

Date July 16, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Shiraz & South Africa

Alright, I think these guys are taking the whole goat theme a bit too far, considering they already tapped that well with the Goats do Roam bottle. I picked up this bottle because the aforementioned wine wasn't a bad value, this generation did not follow suit as well as I'd hoped.
For a new world wine, especially from South Africa, I almost expect a lesson on the back label about the varietal (shiraz, viognier), but rather find myself reading a novel about...what else....elder goats.
Tip: chill more than usual for a shiraz.  If you have this bottle, drink it in 2010 (it should be at least a 2.5 by then)
At a Glance
Taste plum, tar, licorice
Smell plum, blueberry, licorice
Food anything bbq
Sweetness extra dry
Price $19.80
LCBO# 943175
Score

Fontal Tempranillo Crianza 2004

Date July 4, 2008 | Chuck | Red Wine & Spain & Tempranillo

With a medium-full mouthfeel, this tempranillo is wide and juicy. Finishing off with sweet tannins and a fruity yet earthy finish.
Interesting note: Due to the region's (La Mancha) dry climate, the rows of vines are planted far apart so the roots don't compete for what little moisture there is in the soil between rainfalls.
Release Date: May 10, 2008
At a Glance
Taste dark berry, earth, oak
Smell red berry, earth, plum
Food sausage
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 720235
Score

Rosemount Diamond Label Shiraz 2005

Date June 27, 2008 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

Australia is a great place to pickup a shiraz, and for general list, this one's not bad but I was expecting a little more balance on the tannin side and was left wanting more of a pepper note which this varietal is so famous for.
As far as shiraz goes, this one is easy drinking and smooth. My thoughts are this vintage is slightly overpriced, but I suppose someone's gotta pay for this fancy bottle :)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, vanilla, dark fruit
Smell ripe dark fruit, subtle spice
Food lamb
Sweetness dry
Price $15.85
LCBO# 302349
Score

Castelmonte Cent'are Nero d'Avola 2005

Date June 24, 2008 | Chuck | Italy & Nero d'Avola & Red Wine

Although we don't see much Nero d'Avola on the shelves at the time of this writing, if enough people catch on to this well priced big red, there may be a shift in the winds. This Sicilian wine is made entirely from Nero d'Avola and has made the LCBO's Vintages Essentials collection seemingly out of nowhere.
Take note of these up and coming IGT Classification wines, they're tomorrow's favourites.
Tip: Vintages Essential
At a Glance
Taste dark plum, leather, espresso
Smell plum, pomegranate, espresso
Food calzone
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 546192
Score

Chantovent Shiraz 2001

Date June 13, 2008 | Chuck | France & Red Wine & Shiraz

Cellaring the right bottles and opening them at peak is a great experience.  I've had this bottle in my rack for 3 or 4 years, and over the years it's conjured up an very complex yet balanced nose.
As good as the feeling is, it's not as fun when you find out you can't get your hands on any more (at least until you visit the winery in the South of France)
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste ripe dark berries, oak
Smell raspberry, plum, vanilla
Food burgers, roast beef
Sweetness dry
Price $11.05
LCBO# 589457
Score

Gray Fox Cabernet Sauvignon 2006

Date June 8, 2008 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

The LCBO has promoted this wine as part of their 'Taste California' release (on the value end of the scale).
Take note that this is NOT a 'Big California Cab'. It is a light-medium bodied red that could pull up a chair at the lunch table.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, light-sweet cassis, smoky
Smell cherry, berry
Food meatball sub
Sweetness dry
Price $7.90
LCBO# 527515
Score


« < [1] [2] [3] [4] > » 
38 Articles per page