35 South Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva 2009

Date July 15, 2012 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Chile & Red Wine

A big, fruit forward, juicy cabernet sauvignon from Chile isn't something I've had in years.  They had a good run in 2007-2008 but it's been an uphill battle ever since.  Was pleasantly surprised with this bottle.
A strong red weighing in at 14.0 %
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste rasin, cassis, oak
Smell rasin, dark berry, oak
Food cheese, red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 170019
Score

Sandbanks Selection Baco Noir 2010

Date June 8, 2012 | Chuck | Baco Noir & Canada & Red Wine

Deep, rich, flavourful and fruit forward. VQA from Prince Edward County.
LCBO number below reflects the 2009 vintage, review is for 2010
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, leather, vanilla
Smell blackberry, chocolate, vanilla
Food pizza, bbq
Sweetness dry
Price $19.95
LCBO# 211318
Score

Astica Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2011

Date May 8, 2012 | Chuck | Argentina & White Blend & White Wine

Light straw, greenish color. Clean on the nose with a touch of mixed citrus fruit. Crispy, fruity and refreshing in the mouth. The acidity of the Sauvignon is balanced by the fullness and length of the Semillón.
A great value wine that was well received
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste lemon, mineral, floral
Smell citrus, floral, tropical fruit
Food apertif, fish
Sweetness off dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 359083
Score

Pillitteri Gewurztraminer Riesling Fusion 2010

Date March 25, 2012 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

An excellent buy that is full of flavour and aroma. Goes well with the listed foods or simply as an aperitif
Blend: 51% Gewurztraminer 49% Riesling
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste peach, cantelope, floral
Smell peach, cantelope, pineapple
Food seafood, chinese
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $12.95
LCBO# 349126
Score

Torre Varano Taburno Falanghina 2009

Date February 11, 2012 | Chuck | Falanghina & Italy & White Wine

Native to the Campania region of Southern Italy, the Falanghina grape makes full-bodied and well-structured wines.
Release Date: Aug 6, 2011
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste apple, melon, floral
Smell pear, apple, mineral
Food calamari
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 106351
Score

Mirassou Pinot Noir 2010

Date January 9, 2012 | Chuck | Pinot Noir & Red Wine & USA

A soft, fruit forward, easy drinking (very) California pinot noir
Pickup a few bottles, it makes a great house pinot
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, vanilla, raspberry
Smell cherry, plum, vanilla
Food salmon, risotto
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 185249
Score

The Beach House Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2010

Date November 5, 2011 | Chuck | South Africa & White Blend & White Wine

Most people aren't fans of either Sauvignon Blanc or Semillon, this wine won't change their minds.
Made from 80% Sauvignon Blanc and 20% Semillon in South Africa (Cape Coastal Region)
Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste gooseberry, lemongrass, bitter citrus
Smell green apple, gooseberry, lemongrass
Food sushi, crab, shrimp
Sweetness off dry
Price $9.95
LCBO# 122390
Score

Hardys Bankside Shiraz 2009

Date October 11, 2011 | Chuck | Australia & Red Wine & Shiraz

A great Aussie shiraz for the price, I can recommend buying a couple for the rack.
Works as a nice benchmark shiraz for beginners and intermediate wine lovers.
Tip: Stock up on a few
At a Glance
Taste dark currant, medium berry, warm spice
Smell raspberry, leather, dark chocolate
Food red meat, bbq, ribs
Sweetness dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 436022
Score

Huff Estates Rosé 2007

Date September 10, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Rosé & White Wine

It's true, not all pink wines are sweet and syrup like.  Here's a dry to off dry rose that has a serious side to it.
Seems to only be available via the winery
Tip: Serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste cranberry, grapefruit, grass
Smell grapefruit, herbaceous, lychee
Food appetizers, salmon
Sweetness off dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 0
Score

How to Identify a Great Wine

Date August 17, 2011 | Chuck | Editorials & How To Series

Likely the most frequently asked question: " What makes a wine 'good' ". Like most great questions, the answer can be slightly subjective, but overall everyone will agree that there are 5 cornerstones in which newcomers and critics alike look for, even if they don’t realize it.

Wine Cornerstones

The 5 cornerstones of wine tasting

 

What we’re going for is balance. When all five cornerstones are present and not overpowering each other or your taste buds, balance has been achieved and thus, making it a great wine. It’s important to realize that just because a wine is balanced, it doesn’t mean you’ll like it, but odds makers will say it stands a greater chance.

How to Taste Wine

Date August 14, 2011 | Chuck | Editorials & How To Series

Based on our previous article “How to Smell Wine”, we all know how important your sense of smell is when judging wine. However, there are still some very important aspects of wine that you can only assess by tasting it. So, lets continue to find out what your mouth can tell you, but your nose cannot.

The Basic Maneuver:

  1. After swirling the wine, take a small sip and let it roll around your entire mouth to make contact with all your taste buds.
  • Try: Bouncing the wine up and down with your tongue
  • Try: Chewing the wine
  • Try: Inhaling air through a puckered mouth while looking slightly down

The main goal here is to force the aromas into your nasal passage. Mouths will Mouth-off about:

  1. Astringency
    • Derived from tannins, which produce a drying sensation that you can only feel in your mouth (particularly on your teeth and gums).
    • Can be simulated with a mouthful of very strong black tea
    • Not to be confused with bitterness, which is a taste. Tannins have no flavour.
  2. Body/Mouthfeel
    • A feeling of weight and richness in your mouth
    • Think: full body, thin, watery, etc...
  3. Alcohol
    • Produces a hot sensation on your tongue
    • Serving a wine too warm will emphasize the alcohol sensation
  4. Finish/Aftertaste
    • How long the flavour persists after swallowing

Once more traveled, you may be able to tell the following aspects of the wine from tasting it:

  1. Grape Variety
  2. Country of Origin
  3. Fermentation Techniques Employed

Notes/Tips: · Sweetness is our weakest sense of all the tastes. · Bitterness is the highest. · Use taste to confirm the aromas you smell. · Remember to give your taste buds a rest between sampling, as they get tired.

How to Smell Wine

Date August 12, 2011 | Chuck | Editorials & How To Series

Your sense of smell is by far your biggest asset when assessing wine. Food scientists have identified over 200 aromas in wine; your tongue can identify 4 main flavour groups (sweet, salty, bitter and sour) while your nose is able to comprehend well over 10,000 aromas.

What to do:

  1. Pickup the glass by the stem
  2. Swirl it 3 times (increases the surface area and removes any old evaporating vapors from the glass' bowl)
  3. Put your nose deep into the glass and inhale gently for 2-3 seconds (for some, 3 one-second bursts works nicely)
  4. Identify and take note of some aromas (these may change as the wine opens [or warms] up)

What we're Smelling for:

  1. Intensity
    • Mild
    • Moderate
    • Aggressive
  2. Aromas
    • Fruity
    • Spicy
    • Floral
    • Vegetative
    • Earthy
    • Woody
    • Nutty
    • Caramelized
    • Chemical
  3. Flaws
    • Sour
    • Moldy
    • Cork Taint
    • Oxidized
    • Vinegar
    • Sulfide
    • Brett

 

Aroma vs Bouquet

The terms Aroma and Bouquet are often used interchangeably but there's a distinction between the two: · Aroma is used to describe the one-dimensional smells that make themselves very apparent on the first few sniffs. · Bouquet is used to describe layers of aromas perceived in the wine. The wine's bouquet does not develop until after fermentation.

 

 

Practice makes perfect

A professional taster is continually adding to his or her smell vocabulary. Remember, you can't identify a smell if you've never experienced that smell before. Use our About Grapes page for help on identifying some of the aromatic characteristics of the varietal you're accessing.

 

 

Tips: 

Give your nose a break when smelling a variety of wines or the same wine over and over. Your sense of smell can become 'tired' just like a muscle. · If the bottle's label indicates an aroma but you just can't pinpoint it, the aroma may no longer be present. If the wine is a few years old, so is the label. The wine matured, the label did not. · Don't try and smell a wine while in a kitchen full of other aromas. Try to be in a neutral place. · Avoid wearing perfume or cologne

 

 

How to Look at Wine

Date August 9, 2011 | Chuck | Editorials & How To Series

The first step in enjoying a glass of wine is examining it visually. Knowing how to read a wine using visual keys can tell you many things about it’s past, present and future. What does the color tell me? What are ‘legs’ I hear everyone talking about? Read on…

 

What to do:

  1. Pickup the glass by the stem (fingerprints are ugly and the heat from your hand will warm up the wine)
  2. Give it a few swirls (2 or 3) (looking for viscosity)
  3. Tilt it sideways against a white napkin or piece of paper (lets us see the gradient)
  4. Stand it back up (check out those legs)

 

Taking a Closer Look:

As you look at the wine on step 2 and 3, note the following: The color can indicate the grape type, check the About Grapes page for help on matching the color to the grape. If the wine is dark, chances are it was a warm growing season. This is a result of a high grape skin to juice ratio. Cooler temperatures produce wines with lighter hues due to unripe or diluted grapes. Red wines get their color from the grape skins steeping in the fermentation tanks with the juice (remember, red grapes can make white wines too) therefore, if the wine is extremely dark, you may say the winemaker chose a longer steeping time, which can also increase flavor. As reds bottle age, their colors lighten and become more ‘brick’ or ‘amber’ like. Also with bottle age may come sediment, it’s harmless. Once you get to step 4, you’ll notice the film on the glass where the wine swirled up to is breaking apart and streaming down the glass. The streams are called ‘Legs’ or ‘Tears’. Legs indicate the alcohol content in the wine. The more legs...the higher the alcohol content.

Talking about wine Ice-Breaker:

Did you know that with age, red wines become lighter while white wines typically become darker?

 

 

Open Riesling-Gewürztraminer 2010

Date August 3, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & Riesling & White Wine

This VQA fuses two great varietals and the outcome is a success in my books since characteristics from both grapes are allowed to shine through. The palette is crisp all around with a slightly sweet yet tart citrus finish.
This bottle was well received by 3 of 3 white wine drinkers at the table.
Tip: Serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste pear, tropical fruit, floral
Smell pear, citrus, lychee
Food thai, salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $11.95
LCBO# 134965
Score

Chilling Out: Wine Serving Temperatures

Date August 3, 2011 | Chuck | Editorials & Wine Basics

Regardless of the wine you're serving, the temperature should be warm enough to allow the natural flavours and aromas to shine, yet cold enough to be refreshing and subdue some overly eager tannins and perceived heat from a wine with a higher alcohol content. Read on to find out the ideal serving temperature for your favourite wine.

Fact: Most people drink their reds too warm and their whites too cold. We've said this before: "drink what you like". I'll add to it and say "drink what you like, and how you like it". If you've been drinking your whites straight out of the freezer in a chilled glass for years, there's probably a good reason for it: that's how you like it. To that I'll say: Freeze on!

 

If your Red is Too Warm:

  • It may taste unbalanced
  • You'll feel more heat from the alcohol
  • Tannins could overpower the fruit

If your White is too Cold:

  • Fruit flavours will be muted
  • Acids may be sharper
  • Bitterness may be emphasized

If your Sparkling is too Warm:

  • It will erupt from the bottle on opening and you'll lose a good portion
  • The above point is sad enough

 

Average Fridge Temperature: 3°C (38°F)

Average Room Temperature: 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F)

 

Here's our table of suggested serving temperatures

Wine Style Celsius Fahrenheit
Sparkling & Dessert Champagne, Prosecco, Ice Wine 5-8 40-45
Light-Medium Bodied Whites Sauvignon Blanc, Soave, Viognier Pinot Grigio 10-13 50-55
Rosé White Zinfandel 10-13 50-55
Light Bodied Reds Pinot Noir, Beaujolais, Gamay 14-16 57-60
Full Bodied Whites Chardonnay, Riesling, Gewurztraminer, Pinot Grigio 14-16 57-60
Medium-Full Bodied Reds Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Zinfandel, Malbec, Chianti 16-20 60-68

 

Tip: a bottle sitting in an ice bucket for 20 minutes will drop about 10°C (20°F)

Château Poitevin 2003

Date June 21, 2011 | Chuck | Bordeaux & France & Red Wine

The second saddest part about cellaring is that when you finally decide to reach for one and it's great, you can't get any more.  Unless you bought a case to begin with.
Release Date: Sometime in 2007
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste spicy fruit, blueberry, leather
Smell dark fruit, spice, leather
Food ribs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Avalon Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date April 19, 2011 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & USA

This vintages release is a great way to drink some full bodied, fruit forward California Cab at a great price. I will be picking up a few more bottles on my next trip.
Release Date: March 19, 2011
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, blueberry, leather
Smell blackberry, blueberry, cinnamon
Food pasta, pizza
Sweetness dry
Price $15.95
LCBO# 684399
Score

I am not a hoarder. I think.

Date March 23, 2011 | Sean | Editorials & Special Features

expiredwine1.jpg

 

I am not a hoarder. I think.

 

Nothing gives me more satisfaction than pitching and heaving bags and boxes of unused stuff from my home. But when it comes to shrinking my wine cellar – logic gets a swift kick in the pants.

 

I consistently get asked the same questions about my wine collection. What do you do with all those bottles, and do they ever go bad? I will admit that I do take too much pleasure from looking at row after row of bottles waiting to be uncorked. All arranged neatly, labels up, necks out, foils shining in the light. My own private army of soldiers ready and willing to take on any occasion or menu I may throw at them.

 

Every “collector” (hoarder) has a different philosophy on purchasing wine. Mine is to drink it. But that doesn’t always go according to plan. The three bottles in the accompanying picture were, at one time, some of my best finds and favorite wines. They have each passed their peak and were unceremoniously poured down the drain. Tragic indeed.

 

That doesn’t hold true for all wines, some age longer than others. Some can’t age at all. These particular bottles could take a little aging but were really constructed for immediate to near future enjoyment. But I do so hate depleting my army.

 

So remember, store your wine at around 55 Fahrenheit (12 Celsius, eh), in a low light and low vibration environment. Be kind to your wine and drink it.

 

Farnese Negroamaro 2009

Date February 4, 2011 | Chuck | Italy & Negroamaro & Red Wine

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Farnese is the best at what they do, and what they do is produce good, consistent, Italian IGT wines at more than affordable prices, vintage after vintage. Their Sangiovese has been my house wine for over 2 years, this Negroamaro will have some constant shelf space as well. If I could change anything, I would add a little more structure / edge - but then again, I'd get a Sangiovese clone.
To sum up: easy drinking, fruit forward, very little oak, high alcohol at 13.5% but you don't taste it whatsoever. Nice tannins felt along the gumline on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste black cherry, blueberry, herbaceous
Smell black cherry, blueberry, vanilla
Food pizza, hard cheese
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 143735
Score

Pelee Island Gewürztraminer 2009

Date January 31, 2011 | Chuck | Canada & Gewürztraminer & White Wine

If you're looking for a sweeter white wine with loads of honey and pear notes, look no further. Serve this nice and cold but take it easy, as the easy drinking nature hides it's 12.5% alcohol content very well!
This is the non-VQA version, do I mind? nope. Watch for the hint of spice on the finish.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste sweet fruit, honey, pear
Smell pear, honeydew, honey
Food apertif, chinese, stir fry
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $10.95
LCBO# 135970
Score

Colio Lake and River Series Cabernet Franc 2008

Date January 11, 2011 | Chuck | Cabernet Franc & Canada & Red Wine

Franc is harder to find than it should be, this bottle is medium light, food friendly and fruit forward - a good intro to theis varietal.
Made from 100% Cabernet Franc. Alcohol Content: 12.2%
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste strawberry, raspberry, herbaceous
Smell raspberry, strawberry, pepper
Food pizza, burger
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 183079
Score

Fetzer Pinot Grigio 2009

Date December 22, 2010 | Chuck | Pinot Grigio & USA & White Wine

Unfortunately nothing great to report on this 2009 white, I had some high hopes based on the 2007 vintage but 2009's did not show as well.
Slightly bitter on the finish
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, melon, bitter apple
Smell melon, lime, floral
Food tapas
Sweetness off dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 34041
Score

Fetzer Sauvignon Blanc 2009

Date December 16, 2010 | Chuck | Sauvignon Blanc & USA & White Wine

Being very dry and heavy on the alcohol, this white may not appeal to everyone. A friend told me their Pinot Grigio is very nice, review to come.
90% Sauvignon Blanc, 10% Viognier
Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste grassy, grapefruit, gooseberry
Smell melon, grass, floral
Food herbed tilapia fillet
Sweetness extra dry
Price $11.95
LCBO# 34033
Score

Henry of Pelham - Sibling Rivalry White 2009

Date November 19, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & White Blend & White Wine

This bottle would be a perfect one to open amongst white lovers with different palates. The blend of Riesling, Chardonnay and Gewürztraminer is well balanced and anything but bland.
Special thanks to Daniel Speck for the tasting and history of the brand.
Tip: serve chilled
At a Glance
Taste lime, citrus, apple
Smell citrus, peach, floral
Food mango chicken salad
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $13.95
LCBO# 126144
Score

Southbrook Cabernet Merlot Shiraz 2006

Date November 1, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & Red Blend & Red Wine

I think this should be the typical three grapes for a meritage. An excellent blend for the price.
The shiraz shines well in this dry, mid-full bodied vintage.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste raspberry, black pepper, mocha
Smell red berry, earth, pepper
Food bbq ribs
Sweetness extra dry
Price $14.95
LCBO# 45609
Score

Spinelli Malbec 2008

Date October 28, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Malbec & Red Wine

Glad to announce Spinelli remains one of the LCBO's great bargains. If you aren't a big malbec fan (personally I'm not after all the misses I've had with them) give this a shot because it's not in the traditional style. Much more fruit forward and jammy, almost like a Merlot-Cab-Malbec mix.
This bottle scored extra points because of the price and wide usage as a bottle to open any day of the week or bring over to dinner at a friend's place.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste blackberry, plum, jam
Smell dark berry, coffee, cigar
Food mexican
Sweetness dry
Price $7.95
LCBO# 143750
Score

Folonari Valpolicella 2009

Date September 27, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Valpolicella

Even though there isn't a lot going on in the glass, it's not a bad choice at all for casual bbq food. Not sure if this is really LCBO #828 or what I have listed below, the price difference is 4 more dollars.
This valpolicella is a blend of 65% Corvina, 25% Rondinella, 10% Molinara
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, oak
Smell cherry, oak, raspberry
Food pizza, burgers
Sweetness dry
Price $8.00
LCBO# 6254
Score

KWV Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Date September 4, 2010 | Chuck | Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & South Africa

Well there isn't a huge story behind this bottle but it is a good easy drinking wine for a weekday evening.
Put this bottle in the fridge for 20 minutes before opening
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, cedar, cigar
Smell cedar, cherry, plum
Food grilled red meats, medium cheeses
Sweetness dry
Price $10.00
LCBO# 22004
Score

Ironstone Vineyards Merlot 2007

Date July 30, 2010 | Chuck | Merlot & Red Wine & USA

This merlot drinks much like a California cab. It has a full mouthfeel and is very well balanced.
Ironstone continues to be a great value for under $20
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste cherry, plum
Smell cola, black cherry, pomegranate
Food steak, pork, veal
Sweetness extra dry
Price $16.95
LCBO# 704353
Score

Naked Grape White Zinfandel Pinot Noir

Date July 8, 2010 | Chuck | USA & White Wine & White Zinfandel

Friend of the site Vesna has deemed this white zin to be the best of the best. Take her word over mine on this varietal. Although the tasting notes are by yours truly, because c'mon...they don't give websites to just anybody ;)
Overall this is a great summer sipper to be placed in the ice bucket among the beers, but only if there are ladies around so you can explain to passers by that it belongs to them.
Tip: tulip glass
At a Glance
Taste white grape, strawberry, kiwi
Smell strawberry, white grape, syrup
Food apertif, salads
Sweetness medium sweet
Price $9.95
LCBO# 0
Score

Cotnari Tămâioasă Românească 2007

Date June 13, 2010 | Chuck | Romania & Tamaioasa & White Wine

We don't review many sweet wines here but I'm glad this bottle came along. Not only is it a delicious dessert wine, it also hit two milestones for the site: The first Romanian wine and the first bottle from the Tămâioasă Românească varietal.

I'd like to send a big thank you to Angelica for the bottle, it was enjoyed at Sunday lunch with the family.

Tip: serve well chilled
At a Glance
Taste honey, white rasins, ginger
Smell honey, citrus, floral
Food dessert wine, pork
Sweetness extra sweet
Price $14.95
LCBO# 143123
Score

Voga Pinot Grigio

Date March 21, 2010 | Sean | Italy & Pinot Grigio & White Wine

We eat with our eyes, and shop with them too.  A lot of fuss has been made online about the shape of this bottle.  Well the bottle is cute, and reminds me of VOSS Water from Norway, which if you like trends than this is right up your alley.  However, I'm more interested in what is in the bottle, as you should be too.  I had major issues with this wine, so much so that I had to pickup a second bottle and recruit two regular wine drinkers (thanks Dana & Lauren) to provide a second opinion.
Seeing as the bottle is very non-traditional, I was surprised to find a stopper in it.  This was just the beginning of what was becoming an awkward experience.  The next item at issue was the smell.  Pinot Grigio is known for a subtle, slightly floral or citrus leaf scent.  The key to that last sentence was the word 'subtle'.  I was greeted by an aggressive burnt wood scent, which seemed to be competing with Lemon Pledge.  My volunteer tasters both noted the strange aroma, and were somewhat baffled by it.  Finally we tasted.  The first sip was, shall we say...unpleasant.  But, this is where things begun to change.  The second and third sips improved to the point where the wine became enjoyable.  To describe the first sip, we settled on comparing it to the aftertaste of eating a sour candy, which to some isn't always a bad thing.

We are careful when we encounter a wine that doesn't live up to our expectations, especially those receiving a lot of media attention, but this just isn't a winner in our books.  Especially for the price.

Your thoughts and comments on this wine are much appreciated!

Tip: chill well
At a Glance
Taste green apple, lemon, citric acid
Smell burnt wood, chemical
Food seafood
Sweetness off dry
Price $13.50
LCBO# 669226
Score
Voga Pinot Grigio

Fazi Battaglia Sangiovese 2007

Date February 17, 2010 | Chuck | Italy & Red Wine & Sangiovese

Yes, another bottle that proves that Italian wine always goes with Italian food. It's a good sangiovese at a good price, worth a try any day.

Warning: This bottle is so Italian you may be inclined to make your own tomato sauce.

Tip: Serve slightly chilled

At a Glance
Taste plum, sour cherry, light oak
Smell pomegranate, sour cherry, light oak
Food italian
Sweetness dry
Price $10.95
LCBO# 326306
Score

Pelee Island Merlot Reserve 2008

Date January 17, 2010 | Chuck | Canada & Merlot & Red Wine

Well this VQA is alright to drink but it's not giving me a whole lot to write about...It's a middle of the road, classic Ontario red - a pretty safe bet for any red meat.
Grapes: 85% Merlot, 15% Zweigelt. Do I know what Zweigelt is? I do not.
Tip: Serve slightly chilled
At a Glance
Taste dark berry, oak, vanilla
Smell black cherry, dark berry, light oak
Food grilled red meat
Sweetness dry
Price $12.95
LCBO# 612622
Score

Jacob's Creek Shiraz Cabernet 2006

Date January 8, 2010 | Chuck | Australia & Cabernet Sauvignon & Red Wine & Shiraz

Overall a fairly well rounded blend, although the two varietals together made me lean towards a merlot; since the shiraz's pepper notes weren't announcing themselves loudly.  Medium oak and rich plum were the center of attention in this bottle.
The bottle says this wine has won a few Asian awards...maybe my food pairing was wrong...lemme know!
Tip: balloon glass
At a Glance
Taste dark fruit, oak, plum
Smell plum, dark berry, black cherry
Food grilled lamb chops
Sweetness dry
Price $12.45
LCBO# 106377
Score


« < [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] > » 
38 Articles per page